The 5 Best* Star Wars Droids

*Based on how much they made me cry.

Carly Rose Gillis
8 min readMay 4, 2023
Photo by Philip Myrtorp on Unsplash

For most of my life, I regarded the entire Star Wars franchise with a blend of condescension, distain, and boredom. But this all changed one fateful day during the height of the pandemic, when my boyfriend found out I had not seen The Mandalorian.

Under self-imposed COVID house arrest, we had run through all streaming options we could think of when he discovered this gap in my pop culture viewing history and suggested I finally give it a try.

I scoffed. This was during peak Baby Yoda Meme Deluge Of ’20. Back when our collective obeisance to Pedro Pascal was a mere glimmer in a Beskar steel armor’s sheen. The term “Mandalorian” was not only meaningless to me, but confusing. Is it an adjective or a species of thing? There was no emotional connotation to be found.

Before COVID, I had built rigid walls around what I allowed myself to enjoy. And when it came to pop culture, Star Wars was definitely banished from my internal kingdom. But the upside of COVID was the amount of introspection you could do, because there wasn’t really anything else to do but sit with your thoughts for long spans of time. In fact, during these spans of time, my boyfriend and I often discussed if we would still be together if not for COVID. Media consumption wasn’t the only thing those…

--

--

Carly Rose Gillis

content ops @Medium, & producer/writer for @dailynewsletter. also has done stuff at: Huffpost, Upworthy, Snopes, and even the NYCT, if you can believe it.