Where To Find Canadian Black Owned Businesses

A comprehensive online database of Canadian black owned businesses.

Carmeta Josephs
3 min readAug 13, 2020
Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

More and more people are looking to support black owned businesses. The recent deaths of George Floyd and other African American’s have framed the issues of Afro American and Afro Canadians’ day to day living experience and caused a worldwide call of action to address racism and discrimination against Afro American and Afro Canadians.

With the growing interest in racism and blacks many residents in Ontario are actively choosing to support black businesses. According to Google, the search term “black businesses near me” reached its all time high, the period after George Floyd’s death. Black owned businesses have seen a surge in sales and during the months of the pandemic a lot of the items on their restaurant menu’s were marked “sold out”. Google recently announced that will be adding a new feature to their maps apps so users can find black owned business near them and Uber is waiving all delivery fees for Black owned restaurants until 2021. Many American companies are looking for new ways to respond to this new niche market and developing apps to connect users with black owned businesses.

I run my own aesthetics company here in Toronto and many of my clients have asked me if I know any black owned businesses I could refer them to to show support. Besides some of my clients who are also black entrepreneurs, and black owned businesses I’ve heard about through word of mouth, at times it is challenging to provide them with a diverse selection. After a deep discussion with a client last night, I realized the pressing need for a database of Canadian black owned businesses. On my way home, I thought about how I could get the names and contact details for Canadian black owned businesses for clients who ask. Then I thought about how I can provide it to others who want to support black businesses. I started to search the net for black owned businesses, and I came across a website that caters to this emerging niche market.

Afrobiz.ca is making it easier for you to find Canadian black owned businesses and their contact details. The site has a database of Canadian black owned businesses organized by business category. Their database provides full listing information including the name of the business, the businesses daily activities, a brief description and contact details for each black owned business. When you click on the business image you will have access to the business’ website and social media information, if any.

It is also a place where black owned business owners can promote their businesses. Black business owners can add their business to the site’s online database by completing their submission form. After submitting the completed form, Afrobiz will review your information to confirm you are a black owned business and they provide a 7–10 day review period before your listing is posted in their database and made publicly available online.

So if you’re looking for black owned businesses to support, collaborate or network with, Afrobiz.ca is a great place to start!

--

--

Carmeta Josephs

Relationships, Personal Growth and Development, Law and Access to Justice