emov Deconstructed

Less is more when it comes to wireframes

Carol Moran
2 min readMar 24, 2019

The next challenge from Ironhack was to reverse engineer an existing mobile app in Sketch, stripping it back to its bare bones — the wireframes. The app under examination was emov, an electric car-sharing company based in Madrid.

Original screenshots taken from the emov app

Taking something apart is a great way to learn about how it works, and in this case it also brought the details of the user interface into sharp focus. It forced me to consider the macro and micro interactions of the app, and made me realise how important it is to be aware of accepted industry standards (icons and their locations, for example).

I liked working with the wire-framing toolkit. I think it is a great way to speed up the process and ensure consistency, and it reminded me of drawing with predefined blocks in AutoCAD. I am keen to build my own personalised wire-framing toolkit, although I am also aware that there is no need to reinvent the wheel.

emov stripped back to its bare bones

While working through this example, I found it difficult to define the design hierarchy at times. Text style, for example, is something that was clearly defined in the toolkit, but I wasn’t always sure how to apply it. The same goes for deciding what should and shouldn’t form part of the app’s skeleton. I think that the wireframes could be stripped back even further to comply with the ‘less is more’ dictum.

--

--