How the KonMari Method Helps me Curb my Spending and Manage my Anxiety

Caroline Grace Stefko
5 min readMar 26, 2018

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When I first heard about Marie Kondo’s internationally bestselling book, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, I was skeptical of its powers. I’d never been interested in self-help books, and honestly, how life-changing could cleaning possibly be? But I did have a bit of a clothing issue — my closet was so full of clothes that they would get wrinkled just from hanging too closely together. I figured it couldn’t hurt to read the book and try to get a handle on that unfortunate crowding situation.

It made for quite an interesting reading experience. From a Westerner’s perspective, her suggestion to literally talk to your belongings when discarding them was hard to get on board with. I quickly decided that I wouldn’t be following Kondo’s advice perfectly, but rather letting it inspire me. After all, any amount of tidying progress would be an improvement. If you’re a diehard Kondosciple and follow her instructions to the letter, stop reading here, because you will only be upset with my loose interpretation (and especially with my selective use of her folding guidelines).

The basics of tidying

Kondo’s method is actually very simple: tidy by category, discard first, store later, and make every decision by asking yourself “does this spark joy?”. Sure, there are other details that help ease the process — for example, she suggests an ideal order for tidying the different categories of belongings (clothes, books, papers, etc.).

But all you really need to know to harness the spirit of the KonMari method is how to get in touch with your own personal “joy line.” For me, just thinking about clothing, an item had to a) fit well b) feel good to the touch and c) pair well with at least one other item (in the case of separates). The discarding process goes pretty quickly if you’re brutally honest with yourself.

Don’t let perfection be the enemy of good

I mentioned, however, that I don’t follow Kondo’s rules perfectly. I don’t know if it’s a difference in fashion between the United States and Japan (where the author is from), or that I have a lot of dressy clothes from my years working at a mid-price retailer, but the fabric of most of my clothing does not lend itself to folding. Most of my remaining clothes are still hanging in my closet, with just a few categories folded in my dresser (casual t-shirts, pajamas, workout clothes, and undergarments).

I’m giving her unique method of folding a try, but I’m not sure how long I’ll keep it up. She suggests folding clothes in such a way that they can be stored upright, rather than one on top of the other as most of us are accustomed to. I can appreciate that it looks really neat and organized in my drawer using this method, but it seems to waste a lot of drawer space. The one category where it definitely works is my underwear drawer — there’s something so satisfying about opening it to see all the little squares arranged in rainbow order, looking almost, as Kondo says, like a drawer of candy.

I also vehemently disagree with Kondo on the reasonable size of one’s book collection. Suffice it to say, Kondo is not a bookworm, and I don’t think a beautifully organized bookshelf sparks joy for her the way it always does for me. But she’s all about finding the joyline that works for you, and I know she wouldn’t judge me for my sizable book collection since it clearly sparks joy.

Full disclosure: I just completed a second tidying marathon. You could definitely say that I wasn’t as strict as I could have been the first time I decided to tidy. This second time around, I got rid of a lot more clothing, mostly because I’m no longer in my old retail job where I wore most of those outfits.

I also read Marie Kondo’s illustrated companion book Spark Joy before my second tidying marathon, and I actually think it’s a better encapsulation of her KonMari method than the original book. Whereas the first book got bogged down in personal stories, Spark Joy simplifies everything and includes helpful diagrams of her folding method. There was also a very illuminating section on beauty products and their expiration dates. I was thankful and slightly horrified to realize I had a lot of old cosmetics and bath products far past their shelf life.

The benefits of tidying up

But that brings me to the real reason I am so glad to have discovered the KonMari method: since I began tidying, I have curbed my spending dramatically. Whenever I go shopping, I ask myself “does this spark joy?” about every item I consider. And most of the time the answer is “not really.” It’s been months since I bought any new clothes, besides a $20 pair of Target sandals that I buy every summer (they don’t last more than a season or two, but I’ve yet to find a pair as comfortable and versatile anywhere else). I’m pretty happy with my current skincare routine, so I haven’t impulse-bought any new beauty products either. I will admit that I still buy a lot of books… but they spark joy!

With the money I’m saving from avoiding frivolous clothing and beauty purchases, I’ve been able to eat out more often with friends, and I’ve also gotten into the habit of going to the movies more frequently than I ever have before. I’ve always loved going to the cinema, I just rarely made the time/money for it before. I can actually keep up with the Oscars awards chatter now!

I’ve also found that having my space tidy has helped to reduce my anxiety. Another strategy that Kondo stresses is the importance of giving every item its proper place in the home, and making sure items are put away at the end of each day, so that clutter doesn’t develop and spiral out of control. I actually sit at my desk to write and work on my computer now that it’s clear and organized. I feel more productive and focused. And best of all, I don’t waste time spending extra hours on cleaning and tidying every week, because it’s already done. Day-to-day cleaning is much easier now that I don’t have to move anything around to vacuum or clean the top of my sink. Everything is in its right place.

Marie Kondo encourages all her readers to imagine their ideal lifestyle before tidying, because achieving and maintaining a clutter-free living space helps you attain that ideal lifestyle. Keeping your space tidy really does free up more time than you would think, and gives you a peace of mind that improves your quality of life overall. It allows you to focus on the things you’re passionate about, and spend more time with the people you love. It truly is life-changing.

--

--

Caroline Grace Stefko

Bookworm, foodie, music snob, fangirl, and all-around enthusiast. I write about pop culture, film, literature, sexuality, and politics.