Where We Go From Here

How to safely support pro-choice organizations, our communities, and our privacy in a post Roe v. Wade world

caroline sinders
8 min readJun 27, 2022
Photo: Vitolda Klein / Unsplash

What did you feel on June 24, 2022? Grief. That’s what I felt, followed immediately by anger. I found out when I was on a zoom call with a client; my project manager texted me the news. I’m sure my face displayed my every emotion. I was in New Orleans the day Roe v Wade was overturned, and suddenly, myself, my friends, our parents, grandparents and elders had fewer rights than we did the evening before. Surrounded by Texas and Mississippi, both of which have nearly identical restrictions to Louisiana, I realized I was isolated by thousands of miles of land that had no abortion access or abortion support. I’m just one of millions of women, femmes, non-binary, and trans masculine people facing this issue.

What can we do? Where do we go from here? Right now, let yourself feel all the emotions you are feeling, but it is also time to make a plan for how to be safe, for ourselves, and for our community.

Digital Safety in a World Without Roe v Wade

We need to think about general safety right now. It’s not just your period app but how we use our devices and how our devices surveill us that we must consider. You, your community and…

--

--

caroline sinders

Machine Learning Designer and Researcher | Artist | Instigator| online harassment researcher, fellow digital Harvard Kennedy School