The Kindness of Strangers… and Fabulous Neighbours

Here’s to living in a close-knit neighbourhood with caring souls

Carolyn (Carly) Henderson
3 min readMar 3, 2023
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

I am a middle-aged woman who, until recently, has never had to deal with a flat tire. When I was married, my then husband, a mechanic, handled all the car stuff. I was able to stay ignorant and focus on other things.

But now, as a single, divorced woman, things come up that throw me for a loop. Things like…

How do I get my car to a reputable dealership now that I have a flat tire?

First of all, I am blessed to have my mother living with me. She has a car and was willing to let me borrow it for a few days. This made getting to work a lot easier. But it left her feeling a little bit of cabin fever, so I invited her out on Wednesday night for dinner with my client and I. It was only Wendy’s, but she enjoyed the outing. She even joined us for a shopping trip and his ride home.

Secondly, I am blessed to be living in a neighbourhood where people watch out for one another. Not only do the neighbours get out and snowplow my driveway before I can chisel away at it, but two neighbours, seeing my mom’s car gone and mine sitting in the driveway on a weekday, had to come over and see if all was okay.

--

--

Carolyn (Carly) Henderson

A Canadian writer, poet, and blogger who uses her words and voice to inspire and uplift others.