The Road to Canada

Carrie Morris Factoran
2 min readJul 27, 2017

--

Part 1: The Beginning

For some crazy reason I volunteered to give updates on our preparations to get to Canada. Well, really it’s because I love my husband and I love to write so it seemed like the thing to do.

For those of you just joining us on this journey: this October my husband will be playing for the US National Men’s Dodgeball team in the World Dodgeball Championship in Canada. If you need to let that sink in you may want to go check out my blog We Need More Dodgeball .

When he was asked to be on the team we were at once excited and terrified. The Championship takes place over the course of several days in Canada…days which include BOTH of our daughters’ birthdays. Thinking about him going, it was impossible to think that we wouldn’t be there to root him on. And the girls were not going to let their Dad be away from them on their birthdays. We did some research and figured out it was going to cost about $3500 to get us all to Canada (on a shoestring budget).

In a normal year that cost would be a challenge but not horribly daunting. But this isn’t a normal year. We had already planned and paid for (on a credit card) a summer vacation to see my family in Kansas, whom I haven’t seen in four years. And then we got hit with another few thousand in dental bills (go to the dentist people). And then in May, Nick was asked to be on the team. So again, excited and terrified.

Nick had the idea to start a go fund me campaign. I wasn’t sure, but I thought, “hey why not?” And I have been floored by the out pouring of support. Thank you to all that have donated. You are all angels.

So this blog series will be my updates on our Road To Canada. It will include my crazy person life hacks to save money, Nick’s training updates, and how we are using the funds received from the go fund me campaign.

I’ll update as often as I can, maybe once or twice a week as we get ready to compete for gold on behalf of the USA!

--

--