What do I want in life?

Jule experiments
2 min readDec 24, 2023

--

photo by kris at Unsplash

As you may have noticed if you read my blogposts during the last weeks that my mental health hasn´t been in its best state lately. Partly for stuff like the job I´ve terminated, partly because of social struggles… and maybe some kind of winter depression, as this period of the year has the least amount of natural daylight of the whole year.

These struggles lead me to ask myself these kinds of questions over and over again:

What is essential?

What makes a life worth living?

What should I do with my life beyond functioning as a “proper adult”?

One step forward in getting out of the toxic cycle is that I´ll start a new job in Jan 2024. Gladly I have 1.5 weeks of vacation between my last workday at my old job and my new job. It is time to unwind, reflect, and experiment with crafting, reading… all kinds of self-care.

One thing I became aware of is that I need to work on a mental decluttering process as well as simplifying my home (organization) and my PKM / planning process once more.

My basic needs are met, such as food, shelter, and a place to sleep. My financial situation is far away from fears of survival and I can afford stuff like crafting kits for hobby experimentation and so on…

I am reading through all the journals I´ve used since January 2023 and it´s hard to accept that it feels like I haven´t moved much forward concerning my mindset and health since spring this year. The main thing that has changed since then is having a job, but otherwise… I am trapped in circles and currently try to allow myself to rest to start moving forward in 2024.

I wish I had some more specific plans on how I´ll move on. But this time I force myself to go with the flow for the next days and not cling to a specific goal-planning template. As I mentioned last week I need to force myself actively to slow down and unwind, so this is my main goal for my current days off.

--

--

Jule experiments

female in her early 30s seaching for meaning in life, scientist, minimalist, abstract artist, creator. Twitter profile: @juleexperiments