Drew
4 min readFeb 8, 2020

Friday nights, what they used to be

As we walk on the pavements, can you see the ground, the dirt, can you feel what it’s like to be human,

Your creator passed away a while ago and left you in a package in the dump, and the fact that I found you while scavenging was quite odd, on the package I found you in there was a note attached to you, “The world isn’t ready” the note read, sometimes I regret ever opening you, it would’ve saved me the pain.

It’s quite hard walking with a machine like you, You’re said to have been manufactured in the late ’90s no wonder you are such an old soul, I get you but I don’t get why others don’t, it’s not impossible for a robot to love and be loved,

When you were created, your soul purpose was to be “useful”, with your physique you can lift tons without feeling it because you actually could not feel it,

Over time i updated your system with the slight level of robotics i knew/learnt from YouTube,

You look like something in a star wars movie,

I pride myself in making you look like a sci-fi character, I’m sure over time you’ll learn to understand what I did for you, finding spare parts in a dump for a robot at 17 is quite a hassle.

I tried to psychoanalyze you but you had no brain so there was nothing to analyze, you moved differently hardly without a sound, you spoke differently from everyone you were unique.

But people don’t like difference it frightens them, it leaves scars in their brains, and stories in their heads to pass on to the next generation who will then feed on that pain and ingrain it,

Come, my friend they wouldn’t hurt you I would be by your side even if it means risking my life,

You didn’t get me, or get why I did so but you trusted me, I guess robots can now feel,

I didn’t want you to be gone, because you were my only friend, and you’re a robot that speaks volumes,

We’d spend Friday nights chilling and watching television,

Anytime I’d connect music from artistes like mac miller or frank ocean you’d start nodding, something in you told you at that moment to move, Your system is so complex no wonder you feel like us, but they want to take that away they want to turn you to dust, I pushed, I pulled — I tried everything in my power to stop them from finding out you existed, but alas they did, the police would be coming to disassemble you in a week, that’s enough time to make memories.

Also, I’ve also taken the liberty of packing your things, it’s nothing much just some oil and a few bolts,

I’d prefer we go to the beach.

I hear it’s quite sunny today, I’d pack a tube of sunscreen and some motor oil for you,

We’ll take an Uber and make fun of the pigeons on the road, I let my head out of the window just to feel the breeze with you for the last time, you always dragged my head back into the car, but this time you didn’t you let me be unstoppable I was superman for mere seconds,

We arrived at the beach and you couldn’t help but shed a tear, that’s when I knew robots cried, The scene was so nostalgic you wanted to be disassembled here at the sunset while I watched, I had no idea why but I trusted you, after hours of feeling the grains of sand underneath our feet, it was finally sunset, the weirdest part of it all were the stares we was getting from everyone around I seemed like a Madman because I played around with a robot.

The sun began to set, and I dialed the policeman who said he wanted to disassemble you, You seemed okay with it,

I didn’t but since you did I had to pretend I was “happy”,

Sadly, he came in less than five minutes, and you suggested to him you’d be laid by the ocean, he put you down to the ground and started to hit you and loosen bolts left right and centre, in seconds you seized to exist and the last thing you did was a thumbs up to me and a middle finger to the cop, you had quite the humor for a robot,

I will miss you and I’m very sure you will.

After he left your remains in front of the ocean, I ran to you because I felt like I should see your last breaths,

I saw the pain in your eyes,

I tried my best not to cry because you wouldn’t want that, I will try my best to fix you, or make you live again, but for now I’ll just gather your remains.