The things I can’t tell you

The thing that hurts the most are the things left unsaid.

Cassie Brighter
Brighter Thoughts

--

I want to tell you
so many things I see and feel
and smell and hear
Because that’s what I would do;
that’s what we would do —
we would tell each other the things.
But I can’t tell you that.

And I just heard a song
that touched me heart;
I want you to listen to it.
But I can’t tell you that.

And did you see “Nanette”?
I need to tell you how it tore open
the pieces of my heart,
opened my heart,
separated the pieces of my heart
that had been broken
over a childhood
of knowing that I was wrong,
I was sinful, I was broken.
And then Hannah Gadsby
stood up and said, “me too.”
And #MeToo, actually.
And we never did talk about that.
Why didn’t I ever tell you about that?
But I can’t tell you that.

--

--

Cassie Brighter
Brighter Thoughts

Activist. Public speaker. Writer. Community Organizer. Mom. Creator & Host, Empowered Trans Woman Summit. Managing Editor, EmpoweredTransWoman.com