An Ode to Halloween

In Limerick form

Cassie Lewis
1 min readOct 6, 2014

So, September has come to a close
And the leaves now fall as the wind blows
So a poem I’ll write
About my favorite night
(Though I’m usually better with prose)

With the trees turning yellow, and red
And as giant orange pumpkins are bred
I await with elation
And anticipation
For the day before Day of the Dead

The 10th month of the year, it’s October!
Leave your trees, eggs, flags, and four leaf clovers
The 31st is for scaring
So you best be preparing
Because only the kids will be sober

Halloween, it is gunna be killer!
Playing Monster Mash, Time Warp, and Thriller
Will there be candy? Yup.
Eat it till you throw up
(Dentists, prepare the cavity filler)

And with everyone in their disguises
We’ll see costumes of all shapes and sizes
Be a zombie or mummy
Or perhaps something funny
The festivities will be full of surprises

You may inquire why I am so keen
On this holiday, so it would seem
Well, who knows why I’m fond
But the day and I have a bond
So to all of you, HAPPY HALLOWEEN

--

--