How to Build Community in a Coworking Space: 22 Tips for Operators

Cat Johnson Co
5 min readSep 2, 2022

Everything I know about building community, I’ve learned from the community builders that came before me and the communities they built that I’m fortunate to be part of.

I’ve been a member of five coworking spaces and have learned a ton about what to do … and what not to do.

And these days, I produce Coworking Convos, power The Lab workspace marketing club, run the Park City Marketing Club and I’m an active participant in several communities that have nothing to do with marketing or coworking.

So I’ve picked up a few things along the way that you may find valuable.

Here are 22 ways to build community in a coworking space. I hope these tips help you in building community in your space.

1. Keep it real: Community can’t be built on BS. Show up as yourself, encourage people to be themselves and set a tone of realness in your space.

2. Don’t be all things to all people: The best communities are diverse and multifaceted. They don’t, however, try to be all things to all people. Know who you are and who you serve. If your community is “everyone” it’s no one.

3. Invite people into your community: Be proactive about inviting the people you want to be in your community into your community…

--

--

Cat Johnson Co

I‘m a content strategist and creator focused on coworking, content and community. I run Coworking Convos, The Lab and Coworking Out Loud. More: catjohnson.co