Catcophony; A Music Sequencer

cole lee
2 min readNov 14, 2022

--

Assemble a rowdy gang of cats into a competent orchestra!

Instructions:

Navigate through the cats by pressing AWSD. Press enter to change character. Press up down keys to change volume. Press left and right to change octave. Easter egg: discover ‘Levels’ by Avicii, ‘Disturbia’ by Rihanna and ‘Da Ba Dee’ by Eiffel 65 with certain configurations of cats.

The production build is for MacOS and may be downloaded here.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SFd2kNwy4cToUQSxTpAiNfvmsF74TKHN/view?usp=sharing

I was inspired by the idea that so many songs are produced using the same chords. Upon this idea I decided to create a play area made of quadrants which represent a visual playing field for how a certain chord could be built out. I love drawing cats and I used this project as a way to have a creative outlet. I love that in the end I was able to create a music sequencer that created some pretty cool melodies even with so many user input options. I had to rebuild my project because I had a fundamental misunderstanding of Chuck in that only 1 Chuck file should be used in the sequencer. Additionally, I realised very late that updating fields of an array in Chuck requires sending information in not as an array but as individual values. I received help and support from Julia, Terry, Leyth, who helped me understand sporting and debugging some very strange issues I ran into! I didn’t use any other libraries except Chunity; the illustrations were hand-drawn.

--

--