Bloom 🌺
1 min readMar 19, 2024

--

I see your points. I have several biracial people (cousins mostly) in my family. Irrespective of their shading/coarseness of hair (all across the spectrum), here's the rub. When they face racism, and they do, it's how their white parent shapes that experience for them that lends a different perspective to the child. One child's white mother told her, after she and my uncle divorced, that she should never marry a black man, and here's a whole list of other reasons black people are problematic. Another white mother of my cousin's kids diminishes both his and their children's encounters with racism. She can't appreciate what those experiences do to them, so she stamps a cool "sticks and stones" message onto them and blows it off. She coerces them to unsee the obvious which, in my opinion, makes them unseen. It's their dynamics though. Thanks for bringing the stickiness to light. The biracial child's struggle with identity has got to be mind-thwarting, to say the least, which is why I tread lightly on overshadowing their experiences. That said, I fully get and agree with your take. It's real talk.

--

--

Bloom 🌺

I write and enjoy the world of allegory, female aging, relationship lessons, race predicaments and much more. Hopefully, at least one of my musings resonates!