CDF Project 2

Cal M.
2 min readSep 15, 2021

--

Time to catch up on writing up! My updates on this project have thus far been silent, and it’s time to change that. A recap is in order:

THE SKETCHES: The sketches pretty much speak for themselves. While I couldn’t tell you the exact process behind each one, I can give you some themes to look for. I went for a lot of dynamic feelings, trying to convey movement, acceleration, and time sensitivity. I used scale to convey depth, and small, granular squares to convey dynamic textural interactions like crumbling, jumping, or exploding. Each of the “safe” concepts focused on trust and solidarity, while the figure/ground was a deep pull from my elementary school life.

THE FIRST ITERATION: Adobe Illustrator is a clumsy and cluttered monster of an application, but it got me this far. The choices I made were easy ones, as I recall, but I did make some alterations of my own accord, like eliminating some elements and mistakes from the figure/ground, and rearranging the geometry of the “dangerous” composition.

THE SECOND ITERATION: After some one-on-one feedback and a little drop of color, this is where I stand. Re-scaling the “playful” composition helps imitate the off-square composition of the original sketch, and removing the white surround from the “dangerous” composition simplifies the piece and reduces confusion, with the lost emotion regained by the implementation of color.

(DRUM ROLL) THE FINAL ITERATION: After a quick group crit, I’ve voted the “playful/serious” composition off the island. Playing with the scale and background color of the “safe” composition yielded no improvements, so, uh, yeah. No changes.

--

--