Is there life outside of the Earth?

Charles Craft
2 min readOct 5, 2016

--

It takes 10 hours to walk from my house to my college. It takes 38 days to walk from my college to New York. It took the only man to ever walk around the earth 11 years. Without any technology to speed us up, it would take 11 years out of our life to walk across the entire earth. Traveling in a space ship, it would take us 40 years to get to the edge of our solar system. It would take another 79,960 years to fly to the nearest star. Just in the Milky Way Galaxy alone, there are around 100 billion other stars. In the known universe, astronomers estimate there are around 100 billion other galaxies. If we assume other galaxies are around the same size as the milky way, there are 1 quintillion stars. Lets write out that number.

1,000,000,000,000,000,000

We all live on one planet that orbits a star that doesn’t even make a drop in the ocean of space. Do I believe that there is life outside of our Earth? Yes I do. Do I know for a fact? No I do not.

People say that time is an illusion. Time is not an illusion. We can only live for so long before we die. We can only live for so long before we are just gone. Our lives aren’t just small compared to the universe, they are microscopic. We are here for a limited amount of time, and it’s what we do with that time that makes our lives. It’s how we choose to spend the time that we are given that determines who we are. So why do so many people spend that time hurting each other? Why do so many people spend that time killing each other? Why do people cut our short lives even shorter?

I don’t know.

A reason I want to know for a fact if life exists outside of our Earth is simple. The people who do these bad things, who take other lives in the name of themselves or their faith believe themselves to be big. They do not realize how small they really are. I believe that if we can see we aren’t the only things in the universe, it will change everything we know about life. If we discover life, it will show those people how truly small they are. It will show them that they are taking a life for no other reason than to cut it short.

It’s funny in a way, how I believe the only way to end war and conflict is to discover aliens. People believe that we are put into this world for a reason. I don’t think so. I think we need to find a reason for ourselves. I think that we need to use the time that has been given to us to enjoy our lives, not take away others. I believe that there is a way to stop those people, and it’s with the discovery of life outside of Earth. But the question still remains.

If there life outside of Earth?

--

--