E for Ignored: The Failing ESRB Rating System.

Cole Duersch
4 min readAug 16, 2018

Yeah I know, ignored doesn’t start with E but it’s one of the only words that would work for how I wanted the title to be so sue me.

Anyway with that out of the way. We all know of the Electronic Safety Ratings Board or as they’re more commonly known the ESRB. They’re in charge of giving video games their big bold black letter rating. Well I was watching some Scott the Woz lately and I came across this video and I particularly enjoyed the part at the end beginning

In his video Scott said “Too many parents are buying their kids M rated video games without a second thought and then blame the game for being too vulgar for their kids … Most video games that garner controversy for being unsuitable for children are already rated M, but is that ever brought up when all these big shots that know nothing about video games talk about how video games are corrupting society?” The answer is no. They’re too busy talking about how the next first person shooter game is making our children killers (*cough Trump cough*)

So to all you congress bigwigs out there let me introduce you to something

--

--