NEW Nintendo 2DS XL Review

Cole Duersch
3 min readApr 25, 2018

On my birthday, last Saturday, I got a 2017 version of the 2DS XL, This is my first impressions of the New 2DS XL.

Design

The original 2DS got rid of the 3D of the 3DS which was the 3DS’s main selling point. You may be thinking, “Why would Nintendo get rid of the highlight of their handheld console?” In my opinion, I didn’t really use the 3D feature of my old 3DS, so if I could save a couple bucks my knocking off the 3D of my console I would definitely go for it.

The New 2DS XL also has a clam shell design, turning away from Nintendo’s weird decision to make the original 2DS in a doorstop shape which makes it a lot more portable.

The top screen has a weird feeling diagonal grove design. It feels a little weird, but it’s a good weird.

The New 2DS also has different color schemes, I got the black and turquoise version, and it looks amazing. It comes with a C stick, that is very well implemented in games like Super Smash Bros.

But there are some weird design quirks and decisions. Let’s first start off with the display. It SUCKS! The viewing angles are good, but the upper display is a small 4.88 inches (12.4cm) at 400x240 pixels. C’mon Nintendo, it was 2017 when this thing came out 1080p would be nice. The speakers are moved from the sides of the upper display to the…

--

--