CS373 Fall 2022: Cece Vu — Blog #11

Cece Vu
2 min readNov 7, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

I started to work a bit on phase 3 of the project. I had two papers due for my other classes so I’ve spent most of the week working on them. I practiced some leet to prepare for a few interviews I had this week. Besides school, I went back home to Houston to go to a few concerts and watched the World Series with my family.

What’s in your way?

I was feeling a bit sick this week so I wasn’t able to get much progress done on assignments that weren’t due this week. I do feel a little better now so I hope to get a lot more done this week, especially with the project.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will work on the front end of our website and implement the sort, filter, and search features on our website. I wasn’t able to attend the lecture on Friday so I will look over the notes for that class.

What did you think of Paper 11. More on getters and setters?

I thought that this paper was really interesting. It was interesting to see the flaws of the techniques we were taught when we first learn about OOP. However, I do understand how it could cause issues with implementation if other developers start making assumptions about the object.

What was your experience of the SQL, joins, and subqueries? (this question will vary, week to week)

I did not work much on the backend for phase 2 so I was able to learn a lot more about SQL this week. I was not here on Friday to work on the join exercise but I will look over the lecture and review the notes.

What made you happy this week?

THE ASTROS WON THE WORLD SERIES WOOOOHOOOO!!! Also, I went home and visited a lot of family and friends that I have not seen in a while.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

If you ever have to choose between going to a concert/trip or studying for an exam, choose the trip. School is very important but in a few years, are you going to remember studying or are you going to remember the fun memories of the trip? Just make sure you plan ahead and finish what you need to get done before you leave!

--

--