Viggo Mortensen — The Lord of the Languages

One language for every Ring of Power

Cocuca
3 min readJan 16, 2023
Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn [Source]

I have always wondered why polyglots speak many languages. Do they study them? Do they travel? Do they live in different places? Do they learn it for passion, for work? Do they have a gift?

Yesterday, I was talking to a friend of mine who likes and knows several languages, and many things became clear to me. So, I started searching online to learn more.

While looking for information about polyglots, I came across Viggo Mortensen, who surprised me with the number of languages he speaks. You probably know him for playing Aragorn in “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy, but Mortensen is much more than a successful actor.

The American actor’s story helped clear up my doubts about why and how people become experts in several languages. Let’s now see what you can learn from Viggo Mortensen’s language-learning journey.

How Many Languages Does Viggo Mortensen Speak?

Viggo Mortensen is a true polyglot. The American actor is fluent in 6 languages: English, Danish, Spanish, French, German, and Norwegian. On some occasions, he also spoke Arabic and Italian in public. Plus, he proved to have good knowledge of Russian, Swedish, and Catalan. That is a total of more than 10…

--

--