Emily Blunt and husband John Krasinski’s complete relationship timeline

celebrities13
7 min readJan 3, 2024

--

Emily Blunt and John Krasinski not only had a successful marriage, but also made a number of movies as a team, which is not something that every Hollywood couple survives. The couple has been together for more than a decade and has two children and several production credits. They love hitting the red carpet together and gushing over each other in interviews, proving that love can last.

Here’s a complete timeline of Blunt and Krasinski’s enduring romantic relationship and film partnership.

June 2006

Krasinski told Glamor in 2016 that he had a crush on Blunt long before he met her. After its premiere in June 2006, he watched The Devil Wears Prada and continued about 74 times. Blunt found out after they had been dating for a while and Blunt asked if he had ever seen the iconic Meryl Streep movie.

“I said, ‘Yes,’ and she said, ‘How many times?’ And I said, ‘A lot.’ She said, ‘What is a lot?’ And I said, ’75 times,’” he said. “I’m lucky she stayed with me and didn’t realize she actually married her stalker!”

November 2008

Two years after discovering his comfortable film, Krasinki met Blunt through his friend Justin Theroux while in Los Angeles.

In an interview with Late Night with Seth Meyers in 2018, Blunt shared, “It’s kind of a sad, lame story. I was at the restaurant, he was at the restaurant. I was sitting with a mutual friend. And my friend Gray goes , ‘Oh my God, that’s my friend John.’ And that was it. He was sitting with our friend Justin Theroux, he left Justin and came to us. He just stood there and made me laugh.”

During an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Krasinski and Blunt argued over who asked who was first. Mile, everyone thinks they had to convince the other. However it happened, they met for pizza at Krasinski’s apartment, but didn’t want to go into too much detail.

“It’s so rare that I don’t want to talk about it,” Blunt explained.

August 2009

The couple got engaged less than a year later, keeping most of the details of the moment private. Krasinski told Access Hollywood, “It was very casual and I was nervous.”

He added that they were both crying.

In a 2021 episode of iHeartMedia’s River Cafe Table 4 podcast, Blunt revealed a slightly more bizarre detail when she said that she made Ina Garten an “engagement chick” at the time.

“I guess I just did something I knew he would like,” she said. “Roasted chicken, who doesn’t love roasted chicken?”

July 2010

And then they got married again less than a year after their engagement. The ceremony took place at George Clooney’s home on Lake Como in Italy. Krasinski told ELLE that it was the General Hospital actor’s idea.

“It wasn’t until the fourth question that I said yes,” Krasinski said. “Because the first three times I thought maybe he didn’t mean it.” But I started to see how his feelings were getting hurt. I actually hurt George Clooney’s feelings.’

For the ceremony, Blunt wore a Marchesa gown and a three-carat round diamond and platinum ring by Neil Lane.

2011

Krasinski shared more details about their meeting during The Ellen DeGeneres Show in 2011, saying he “wasn’t really looking for a relationship” before he met his wife.

“Then I met her and I was so nervous. I was like, ‘Oh my god, I think I’m going to fall in love with her,’” he shared. “It’s one of those things where once you meet someone you Kind of know.

May 2013

In her opening interview for the May 2013 issue of InStyle, Blunt shared, “Meeting John really changed my life. When I feel the support I have from him, I feel invincible. Someone is behind you on your good days and someone is ahead of you on your bad days.”

September 2013

In fall 2013, a representative for Blunt told People that she and Krasinski were expecting their first child.

February 2014

Their daughter Hazel Grace was born on February 16, 2014.

“I wanted to get the news straight. Emily and I are so incredibly happy to welcome our daughter Hazel into the world today! Happy birthday!” the Office star announced on Twitter.

August 2015

In an interview with People, Krasinski shared more about his marriage to Blunt.

“It’s just that we’ve been lucky,” he said. “It’s one of those things, I’m having more fun now than the day I met her, and it’s pretty wild.”

He added that the birth of Hazel changed their lives.

“I think when you dedicate your life to something like that, it changes everything. All the clichés are true,” he said.

June 2016

Their second daughter, Violet, was born in June 2016, though Krasinski didn’t announce the news until the Fourth of July.

“What better way to celebrate the 4th… than to announce our 4th family member!!! We met our beautiful daughter Violet 2 weeks ago #Happy4th,” he wrote.

March 2017

Their joint horror film A Quiet Place was announced in March 2017 via a sweet Instagram post with the news and a photo of the couple.

“Question: ‘John, who did you want to work with?’ Answer: (see above),” he wrote in the caption.

January 2018

Just before the premiere of her film Mary Poppins, Blunt appeared on the cover of Vanity Fair and Krasinski was interviewed for a profile of his wife. He was passionate about her acting work.

“The air in the room changes when he starts doing what he’s doing,” he said. “It’s so honest and so pure and so powerful. It’s like a superpower that he can simply unlock and do specifically with a few tries.”

He added that compared to his own acting performances, his wife is “on another level”.

“This weird intersection happened on set where I completely forgot I was her husband,” he said. “I just watched her perform and I was lucky enough to be in the front row.

April 2018

A Quiet Place debuted in 2018, and Krasinski had more to say in an interview with People about Blunt’s work ethic and how they worked together.

“We could announce our divorce right now if things went badly,” he joked. “I’ve never loved my wife more than after we made this movie. For me it was a matter of trust. We certainly trust each other in everyday life , but when you trust each other in this way, it’s different.”

January 2019

Thanking her husband when she won the SAG Award for A Quiet Place, Blunt said: “I’m totally going to share this with my husband John Krasinski because the whole experience of doing it with you guys just completely pierced my heart. You are an amazing filmmaker. I am so happy to be with you and to have made this film with you.”

July 2019

With the success of the first film, A Quiet Place Part II was announced in July 2019. Blunt told Variety, “We were both really reluctant and nervous about trying to do another one. A lot of people came into the studio and tried to pitch ideas, and we were both like, ‘We’re not going to do that.’”

May 2020

The film, like most things, was delayed with the onset of the pandemic. The pair also celebrated their 10-year anniversary in lockdown. Blunt told People: “Having John’s support is everything because we are each other’s confidants. This shared understanding was really a very important anchor for me.”

She added of their children: “Being with the little ones during the pandemic was such a lifesaver because they would just be bouncing around the house and it’s your job to protect them from what’s going on and make sure their lives stay joyful.”

May 2021

The sequel to A Quiet Place was released in May 2021 and did very well, especially when people were hesitant to go to theaters again. Blunt said on Jimmy Kimmel Live! that the story’s theme of “needing your fellow man” seemed particularly fitting.

“It has even more meaning now. It’s kind of surreal,” she explained.

December 2022

On The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, Blunt said she’s kept the outfit she wore on her first date with Krasinski all these years.

“I have a really awful, old, royal blue velvet jacket and I don’t wear it, but I wore it on John [Krasinski] and on the first date and I haven’t thrown it out yet,” she admitted. It’s such a terrible jacket. I’m sitting there going, ‘That’s a terrible jacket.’”

That same month, Krasinski told Parade: “I wouldn’t be anywhere in my life without her. On a day-to-day basis, but definitely…career-wise, he pushes me as a dad to be better every day in everything I do.”

June 2023

During an interview with Harper’s BAZAAR UK, Blunt revealed that the best present she ever received came from her husband.

“I will say that my husband bought me wonderful and thoughtful, profound gifts,” she said. “He got me an old cello. I played the cello as a child. I’m embarrassed to play it now, but I love it. And I like that he got it for me.”

September 2023

On Thursday, September 28, Blunt and Krasinski dressed up for the Clooney Foundation For Justice’s The Albies in New York City. Blunt wore a fire red Zuhair Murad dress with floor-brushing hemline and glittering Lorraine Schwartz jewelry on her wrists and ears. She carried a dark red clutch.

Krasinski wore a classic black tuxedo with a bow tie and white button-up. Other celebrity guests included Amal and George Clooney, Cindy Crawford, Kate Moss, Sofia Vergara, Anne Hathaway, Matt Damon and Jodie Turner-Smith.

December 2023

In an interview with “Variety’s Award Circuit” podcast, Blunt touched on The Office fans wishing Krasinski was with his co-star Jenna Fischer in real life because of the chemistry of their characters Jim and Pam. “You know how many people keep yelling, ‘I wish you were with Pam!’ like when I walk by him? Blunt began. “‘Where’s Pam?’ I’m like, ‘She’s not here!’” Blunt revealed that they’re actually pretty close to Fischer. “ She’s one of our dearest friends,” Blunt said. “We love Jenna.

--

--