Jane Hancock: R&B’s Next Fly Girl

Celeste Polanco
2 min readNov 27, 2019

--

Songwriter turned singer Jane Handcock is making a rise as an independent R&B artists. All they way from Oakland California she brings her ‘90’s fly girl’ style. I met up with her on sunny day in Central Park NYC to discuss her favorite R&B artists, her E.P, and more.

What can people expect from you now that you are singing/song writing for yourself?

People can just expect great music. To be honest, I don’t plan on slowing up on that. If it’s me singing or a song that I wrote, I’m gonna always give my best.

These days’ females are really booming in the industry. Who do you feel is killing the game right now?

Ari (Lennox), Lizzo, H.E.R, Rap City these are females I seen for years doing there thing. They are all out here just sizzling and booming. I see these girls out here grinding and it’s paying off for sure. Sza is dope too! I feel like with her, she set the tone for girls to be themselves.

If you could pick one song from your upcoming project what song would it be and why?

‘90’s Love’ because that’s my mood right now. I feel like our generation is always in search of something, so I’m always looking for a connection with somebody. That’s like my mood. That song is something that constantly playing right now.

Is 90’s love written for someone special?

All the yummy 90’s men inspire it! The one’s that just stood out, they were like art. Method Man, Q Tip, 2 Pac, a lot of them. If you watch those movies (90’s movies) it was just a certain connection they had. There were no phones. No DM-ing each other or texting each other back then it was more of an interaction.

Do you think social media has an impact on the way men approach women?

Absolutely and for how we approach men. I’m not the “hot girl” you know? I love the “Hot Girl Summer” they’re dope, but I’m somebody who’s shy. I don’t even know how to flirt in today’s times. It’s hard with social media because I like face-to-face. I like to interact.

What is the inspiration behind your EP “Summer Type Flow?”

A lot of my stuff on Summer Type Flow is me rapping. I just wanted to show my flow with this EP. I wanted it to sound like summer wherever you are: down south, east coast, west coast. I wanted it to feel like the sun was out and they was just chilling and vibing.

To listen to Janes EP “Summer Type Flow” Click here.

--

--