The Fascinating World of Ear Wax Removal

John Ang
3 min readNov 15, 2023
Photo by Jessica Flavia on Unsplash

Do you ever feel your ear itching? For me, whenever I feel itchy, I usually clean my ear using an ear pick or wet cotton bud. But there’s always ear wax that feels stuck inside.

What I’m going to share later on in the YouTube videos might seem gross. So, please be mentally prepared.

When I was a kid, my late mother would regularly clean my sister’s and my ears. We always looked forward to it. We would place a pillow on her lap and let her do her job. She had the skill to pick up those stubborn ear waxes.

As I grew older, it was my turn to help the younger ones clear up their ears. The younger cousins also liked it when I offered to do it for them. One of my cousins’ ears seriously seemed like it was keeping a dinosaur in it. When I managed to pick out those huge ones for them, it felt like a huge success and accomplishment. Make me wonder how this boy can hear with his ear blocked by ear wax.

Is it safe to dig out the ear wax?

I’ve heard a lot of times not to dig the ear wax, as it is dangerous and the ear wax will eventually drop out. It is half correct, I agree with the dangerous part but the ear wax will never drop out.

--

--