My Journey to Kazakhstan #1: Reflections on Tech, Culture, and Connections

Khongorzul Munkhbat
5 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

(The blog is written by Gemini 1.5 Pro)

My recent trip to Kazakhstan was a whirlwind of activity, filled with inspiring encounters, cultural immersion, and a deep dive into the country’s burgeoning tech scene. From the vibrant city of Almaty to the futuristic capital of Astana, I had the opportunity to connect with incredible people, share my passion for generative AI, and witness firsthand the exciting innovations happening in this dynamic region.

Almaty: Embracing Autumnal Beauty and Local Charm

My first stop was Almaty, where I was greeted by the stunning sight of snow-capped mountains framing the bustling cityscape. The crisp autumn air and vibrant foliage painted the city in warm hues, creating a picturesque backdrop for my explorations.

One of my first adventures was visiting the Botanical Garden near my hostel with Alina, and her local friend. The serene atmosphere and diverse plant life offered a peaceful escape from the city’s energy. We strolled through the gardens, snapping photos and soaking in the beauty of nature.

Later, I had the chance to experience the local transportation system, relying on the “Onay” bus card to navigate the city efficiently. It was fascinating to see how technology is seamlessly integrated into everyday life in Kazakhstan.

Sharing Knowledge and Inspiring Future Tech Leaders

A highlight of my time in Almaty was giving a talk to students at AlmaU University. I spoke to 1st and 2nd-year students studying IT, project management, and data science, sharing my journey into the tech industry, my current work, and my goals for the future.

With students of Almaty Management University

I also touched on the crucial role of women in tech and the exciting potential of generative AI. It was an honor to connect with these bright young minds and hopefully inspire them to pursue their own ambitions in the tech world.

Astana: A Glimpse into the Future of Innovation*

Next, I headed to Astana, a city that embodies Kazakhstan’s forward-thinking vision. The modern architecture and innovative infrastructure were a stark contrast to the historical charm of Almaty, showcasing the country’s commitment to progress and development.

My primary reason for visiting Astana was to attend the Digital Bridge tech event. This international forum brought together leading figures from the tech industry, government officials, and aspiring entrepreneurs. It was an incredible opportunity to learn about the latest trends and advancements in the field, and I was particularly excited to give a keynote speech in a panel discussion on “Opportunities and Trends with AI.”

“Opportunities and Trends with AI” section of Google Developers

After the Digital Bridge event, I had the privilege of attending the Google Devfest Astana event as a speaker.

(Left) After the Devfest Astana 2023 at Nazarbayev University (Right) with the guest speakers and organizers

Connecting with the Tech Community and Beyond

Beyond the formal events, I also had the chance to connect with fellow GDG and GDSC leaders and members. These passionate individuals are driving the growth of the tech community in Kazakhstan, and it was inspiring to hear about their projects and initiatives.

Googlers, GDEs, GDG organizers, and WTM ambassadors in Kazakhstan and other countries

Of course, no trip to Kazakhstan would be complete without experiencing the local cuisine. From hearty plov to succulent kebabs, I savored every bite of the delicious and diverse dishes.

Looking Back and Moving Forward

As I reflect on my journey, I am filled with gratitude for the opportunity to have explored Kazakhstan and connected with its vibrant tech community. The country’s commitment to innovation and its embrace of technology are truly impressive, and I am excited to see what the future holds for this dynamic region.

Now, I want to hear from you!

Have you ever visited Kazakhstan? What are your thoughts on the country’s tech scene? Share your experiences and insights in the comments below!

--

--

Khongorzul Munkhbat

Co-founder of Deep Tech LLC & Google Developer Expert in Machine Learning