41 tools you need to write your first book

Chad Bockius
13 min readJun 13, 2018

A year ago I started writing a blog. At the time I had no plans to publish a book. But a few months in I caught the bug and decided to give it a shot.

As I started researching the ins and outs of the book writing process a couple of facts became clear.

  1. I would need to build an audience before publishing anything. So much of the book writing world is about creating awareness for your product.
  2. There are two ways to go about writing a book. One is to do everything yourself. The second is to work with firms that will ghostwrite and do most of the heavy lifting.
  3. The process was going to be intense. It seems like there is an endless list of tasks to getting a book published. When I started, I had no idea what the process entailed.

If you are about to set off on this journey, here are a few tools that will help.

Mental & Physical

For most people the issue isn’t choosing to start this journey, it’s stopping. If I had to rely on my willpower alone, I never would have finished. To set myself up for success, I needed to prepare my body and my mind.

1. Sleep
At this point, everyone should be aware of the science around sleep. It is crucial for us to operate at our peak. When I started this…

--

--

Chad Bockius

Startup CEO turned Solopreneur. Mission: help executives unlock clarity in their business 🔎 Result: speed + growth 🚀 Follow for more. 👉