Minimum Viable Business Person

A checklist for technical co-founders from a (formerly) non-technical founder

Chad Kruse

--

Anyone that hangs out on Hacker News or /r/startups on Reddit has seen the classic post from an entrepreneur seeking advice on how to find a technical co-founder: “I’ve got the next blockbuster idea, I just need someone to build the app” yada yada yada. That topic has been discussed ad nauseam.

What I want to talk about today is a minimum set of traits my past experience as “the business guy” tells me any business person thinking of launching a tech startup should have. For technical co-founders, consider this a checklist to ensure you’re talking to a Minimum Viable Business Person (MVBP).

1) Github for Mac

If this isn’t installed, run. It shows they likely have at least a basic understanding of the software development workflow. Bonus points if they actually know how to use it. I’ve always designed and handled the static front-end work of our apps myself, but just knowing I could handle UI tweaks and copy changes on my own put my co-founders at ease. You’re a full-stack developer…is the best use of your time really playing with button colors?

2) MVC-aware

“Don’t touch the M, prove your worth in the V, and MAYBE you’ll earn access to the C.” If the person doesn’t understand the context of that statement, run. With my first Rails project it was nice to set those self-imposed boundaries to make sure I wasn’t stepping on my co-founders toes. Knowing I wouldn’t be mucking with his code allowed him to access the 20% of his brain power that would otherwise be consumed with worrying about having to babysit.

3) “That’s your decision”

If you don’t hear this in your first conversation, run. I’m building the MVP for my latest venture using Meteor, not because it’s the right framework for the long-term, but because I know enough javascript to be dangerous and it’s the shortest path to a prototype (I do not have a technical co-founder). What will the site be built with post-MVP? That’s not my decision to make…it’s the sole decision of whoever I end up bringing on as a technical co-founder and/or first engineering hire.

4) Brings ink

Incorporating as a Delaware C-Corp can cost $4-6k in my experience. If your MVBP has a good reason for delaying incorporation, that’s OK. What’s not OK is if they don’t at least offer up some sort of written pre-founder agreement, however informal. My last technical co-founder and I negotiated and memorialized our arrangement in a private chat on Slack. Screenshots taken, problem solved. The comp conversation is always a bit awkward, especially with friends. If your MVBP appears to be dodging it, what other conversations are they going to keep from you?

5) Beer test

I couldn’t imagine taking the plunge in launching a startup with someone I didn’t enjoy having a beer with (it’s a function of spending my early career in beer-flush Portland). These things are hard, and life is too short to work with assholes. Whatever your beer test is (maybe it’s just the no-asshole rule), stick to it.

So what’s on your MVBP list?

PS — it’s worth noting there’s an alternative MVBP checklist with just one checkbox:

Has cash.

But what’s the fun in that.

Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer. Anything you’ve read here is based on my personal experience and in no way should be construed as legal advice. If you need that disclaimer, you absolutely do not fit the definition of Minimum Viable Business Person.

--

--

Chad Kruse

Founder of SmarterGiving.org, Creator of Grantmakers.io. Passionate about using technology to make the world a better place.