Mastering Emotions and the Transformative Power of Forgiveness

Chaitanya Aggarwal
2 min readJul 15, 2023

--

I’ve realized something important at just 16 years old — I haven’t been the person I wanted to be. My anger has often taken over, leading me down a regretful path of bad choices. But why do we always fight and argue when we’re angry? Why don’t we try talking things out and forgiving each other? These questions have sparked a big change in me, making me think about the importance of forgiveness and the harm that hate can cause.

The Uselessness of Fighting: When we stop and think about it, fighting and seeking revenge doesn’t really solve anything. For example, when someone accidentally bumps into us, we tend to get angry and might even start a physical fight. But a simple apology could easily fix the situation. So, why do we let anger take control? Trying to look tough or powerful often messes up our judgement and stops us from understanding and forgiving.

Forgiveness: Think about someone you love betraying your trust. It’s normal to feel intense hate and anger towards them. But we shouldn’t forget that they were once someone we cared about and who did good things for us. Instead of letting hate consume us, why not consider forgiveness? Forgiving doesn’t mean we have to stay with them or forget what happened, but it does mean letting go of the anger. I’ve learned that hate is the worst thing we humans have, destroying everything in its path.

A Personal Story: Let me share a story from my own life that made a big impact on me. When I was younger, I was bullied. I felt scared and didn’t tell anyone about it, so I decided to stop going to school. It was a sad time, but I don’t hold onto hate for those who hurt me. It might sound strange, but forgiving them has helped me move forward. By not letting my emotions control me, I’m trying to become stronger and more resilient.

--

--