Japanese Skincare: Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent Review

Stella - Chai with Stella
3 min readAug 2, 2020

--

My skin type and concerns

I thought I should preface this review with relevant information about my skin type and concerns.

  • Skin type: normal/combination but slightly oily-combo during the evenings
  • Relevant skin concerns: redness, pigmentation, skin scars

What is Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent?

I purchased Kose’s Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent in Japan and it was quite expensive. I don’t remember the price exactly but it was around $30-$40 for 140ml/4.6oz. It is an emulsion with herbal ingredients that claim to help with skin hydration and skin ageing.

Ingredients

WATER (AQUA)・ TRIETHYLHEXANOIN・ CYCLOMETHICONE・ ALCOHOL・ BUTYLENE GLYCOL・ GLYCERIN・ ISOTRIDECYL ISONONANOATE・ PEG-30 DIPOLYHYDROXYSTEARATE・ ASCORBYL GLUCOSIDE・ TRIFLUOROPROPYL CYCLOPENTASILOXANE・ ANGELICA ACUTILOBA ROOT EXTRACT・ CITRUS AURANTIUM TACHIBANA PEEL EXTRACT・ COIX LACRYMA-JOBI (JOB’S TEARS) SEED EXTRACT・ HAMAMELIS VIRGINIANA (WITCH HAZEL) EXTRACT・ INULA BRITANNICA FLOWER EXTRACT・ MELOTHRIA HETEROPHYLLA EXTRACT・ PAEONIA SUFFRUTICOSA ROOT EXTRACT・ PORIA COCOS ROOT EXTRACT・ TOCOPHERYL ACETATE・ TRITICUM VULGARE (WHEAT) GERM OIL・ CITRIC ACID・ DISODIUM EDTA・ DISODIUM PHOSPHATE・ ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE・ MAGNESIUM CHLORIDE・ PEG-9 POLYDIMETHYLSILOXYETHYL DIMETHICONE・ POLYGLYCERYL-2 DIISOSTEARATE・ QUATERNIUM-18 HECTORITE・ SODIUM CHLORIDE・ SODIUM HYDROXIDE・ TRIFLUOROPROPYL CYCLOTETRASILOXANE・ ETHYLPARABEN・ METHYLPARABEN・ PROPYLPARABEN・ FRAGRANCE (PARFUM)・ CARAMEL

Source: https://www.sekkisei-usa.com/concerns/emulsion/sekkisei-emulsion-excellent

How to use Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent

I usually used this at night after applying my moisturiser. I could have applied it in the morning as well but I wanted to savour it! I applied it on my face and pat it in to make ensure it was being absorbed.

What I liked about Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent

  • It’s very nice to put on the skin. I feel bougie whenever I use the product. I was sad when I ran out 🙁
  • The packaging is so nice.
  • It’s hydrating.
  • It lasts a while (about 8 months?).
  • It smells nice.

What I didn’t like about Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent

  • It’s expensive for my budget.
  • I don’t think it really helped with skin ageing for me but I’m still in my early 20s and I try to take good care of my skin.
  • It’s not fragrance-free.
  • Nothing else!

Who would I recommend Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent to?

  • Anyone with the budget and interest in buying a luxurious product that helps with hydration

Would I repurchase Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent?

  • Unfortunately not 🙁 I think there are products that provide better value for money and help with my specific skin concerns.

Kose Medicated Sekkisei Emulsion Excellent Rating

3/5. Nice luxurious texture but I’m not sure if it did anything to my skin except hydrate.

I hope you enjoyed this review! Have you tried these products? What do you think about them? Let me know in a comment below!

Have a day or night as amazing as you are! You are wonderful and doing so great. You are you and that is enough! 🙂

All my love,

Stella

Please check out my other blog posts here and free digital printables and wallpapers here! Let’s connect on Instagram and Pinterest as well!

Did you find this helpful? Let me know what you think!

--

--