The Week That Was — Week 1

Chanchal Vishwakarma
2 min readOct 28, 2018

--

It was when I was just googling some scholarships for girls that I came across “Rethink WIT learning program”. (Rethink’s Women in Tech Learning Program is a 4 week learning program for female engineering students, designed to equip them to leverage the various Women in Tech opportunities) and I were fortunate enough that the WIT were accepting the applications that day but the deadline was in two days ,I decided that I am going to apply for this program as a result I made my google site and a small introduction video and submitted both to Rethink Bot on Telegram.

https://sites.google.com/view/chanchalv18/home

October 25th was the day when results got declared and I couldn’t believe that I were there in the list . :)

The mail I received on my selection..:)

I got a mail from Rethink saying that now I am a participant, and after this mail we were asked to join a WITx Telegram group, where we first introduced ourselves , it was a proud moment for me as I introduced myself to the girls all over the country.

After we were done with inroductions, we were given 15 minutes to search any 3 scholarships, internships or other programs that we find interesting and post them on twitter,as a result in 15 minutes we all 70 participants discovered 210 new #Opportunities.

https://twitter.com/ChanchalVishw16/status/1055833164692639744

The second activity was #Connect and we were asked to go through the various interviews conducted by WIT cohort 1 participants and to prepare a summary of any one of them. I went through all the interviews and found Jigyasa Grover’s interview very interesting it was conducted by “Dhanya Sreekumar”.

Jigyasa Grover is the winner of Red Hat Women in Open Source Academic Award 2017 and Facebook Grace Scholar 2017.

here is the link to that interview summary https://medium.com/@chanchalv187/interview-summary-67e8f541d9d5

I want to thank Rethink for this great initiative and making me a part of it . I look forward many more activities.. :)

--

--

Chanchal Vishwakarma

Associate Consultant| Women Techmakers Ambassador| Former GDSC lead