Creating YouTube mobile app UI (dark mode) using React Native

Chandan Rauniyar
The Startup
Published in
7 min readMar 18, 2019

--

expo init react-native-youtube-ui

One of the ways to learn new skills is by actually following some sort of tutorial or building something specific to the requirements of the skill. I was on YouTube app endlessly scrolling through the videos on the home tab until I landed on a video titled Creating Airbnb app UI using React Native. It was 3 part video series and at the end, UI of Airbnb app was created. The interface was similar to the Airbnb app that is on Apple’s App Store and Google Play Store. I was honestly surprised how quickly and easily the app interface was created. Below is the screenshot of the UI running on iOS simulator and Android emulator.

Images used within the app are taken from Unsplash.

Screenshot of the UI on iPhone X (left) and Pixel 2XL (right)

I am working with React at my current job and learning about React Native through video tutorials. I thought I should try and create something similar to see how easy it is and if I can get it done. Since I landed on the tutorial video on YouTube, I decided to create the UI of YouTube app using React Native. I am going to talk…

--

--

Chandan Rauniyar
The Startup

Senior Software developer | Visual learner | Love all things Android