Year Sixteen in 16 minutes: Feb’21–22

Chandhana Sathishkumar
16 min readFeb 13, 2022

🗽 How a Twitter DM led to an all-expenses-paid trip to New York

🐶 Getting a dog, doing a TED talk, and joining pre-med (oops)

✒️ What started as an application ended up becoming a book

✈️ Meeting a stranger at the airport -> Becoming best friends

😏 Talking my way out of writing my school exams

🤖 How cold-emailing got me into the world's top tech accelerator program

🤠 Gene-editing the sun to stop global warming

🧠 Controlling stuff with my Brain

This year was ANYTHING but ordinary and filled with changes- learning so much about the world and myself. I’m incredibly grateful to everyone who’s been a part of my journey — Thank you.

I’ve been on this planet for 6209 days, and one takeaway from the past 365 days would realizing the power of being authentic.

That’s why I’m going to try and be as authentic as possible as I unravel my roller coaster ride from Feb ’21 to Feb ‘22

Here’s a (not-so) quick review of year 16

Feb & Mar’21

Boards

In India, we have these final exams in grades 10 & 12 called boards. They're a pretty big fricking deal down here. In a line, no one would care about any of your grades or scores. Except for this one.

Remember those relatives who visited you at the hospital when you were born?

No?

Yeah. Exactly.

So you get it, this kinda matters (at least socially). The only things I did in 2020 when I was supposed to do test prep were

a) Binge-watch EVERYTHING I could

b) Prepare for a Quiz contest that never happened (This actually added way more value to me than expected- came across neuroscience resources. This makes sense later in the article, keep reading)

Here’s a rough timeline for you-

Feb’20 — Grade 10 started

Mar’20 — COVID Lockdown

Dec’20 — Realization that I was screwed. Big time

Mar’21 — Finals (proposed)

So I did what exactly we call a very bad idea- finish a year’s coursework in 3 months x_x All while stress-eating Strawberries & Vanilla ice cream + stress watching the good Doc. I got my average up from 80% to 95% and I felt fucking amazing.

Oh, and fun fact — the exams were canceled. Cuz guess what?

COVID✊

Takeaways:

  1. Never put off work (especially school stuff) till the last minute. It’s not worth the feel-good moments you get while procrastinating. Don’t let the monkey steer your wheel.
  2. It’s important to assess what’s important to you and why. Is it the grade? Is it to understand what you learn? Or being a bit more broad- Why do you do what you do? Do what makes sense in a way that makes sense to YOU.

TED

Late in Feb, I got the opportunity to do a TED talk. My pre-final exams were happening around the same time decided to focus on the exam and then the TED — which, in hindsight probably wasn't an amazing idea.

Takeaway:

3. Always weigh your options. Which one is better for you in the long run?

Apr’21

April was all about changes. I got a dog after YEARS of begging my parents.

Boards were canceled so I was done with school officially. I switched schools to join a pre-med program cuz I wanted to be a surgeon. I was pretty set on this but I changed my mind after some more introspection (later in the year).

Long story short, I had a 10–15 year roadmap of what I had to do to get where I wanted and all that started with the pre-med program from 8 am to 5 pm, 6 days a week for 2 years :)). I was 100% aware of what I was getting myself into and I wanted it to show myself and everyone that I could do whatever I wanted and be good at it.

(Around Sept/Oct) I started to realize that didn't enjoy what I did at all. I could go with the flow and stick with it for 2 years. But that didn't make sense to me. I still love medical science, that’s why I even joined the program in the first place. The intense education schedule and not being to do ANYTHING else just wasn't working.

So I spoke to the school board about leaving the program and TL; DR- I’m still in the program BUT I get to skip all the tests and test days ;)

Takeaways:

4. (For some context- this place is considered one of the strictest educational institutions in my city. With unbendable rules, etc) When you think there’s no way out, KNOW that your brain is lying to you. There’s ALWAYS a way. Maybe it isn't obvious to you, maybe it’s hard and needs you to step out of your comfort zone and have a hard conversation. Be it with your parents, teachers, friends, or any kind of authority. What you want is right on the other side.

5. Going with the flow is a crappy piece of advice. When you don't agree with something- question it. When you're not comfortable with a situation (not discomfort, just weird/creepy vibes- leave. This is something that sets you apart from everyone else. If you ever feel that you don't like where you are in life, remember no one but you can activate change.

6. Planning things is amazing, but don't over plan. For eg, knowing what you want to do in the next few months makes sense, whereas planning the next 10 years isn't a good idea cuz you literally don’t know what opportunities will pop up/how things can change.

7. Better oops than what if. More often than not, perceived risks are more than the actual risks. There’s nothing wrong with trying new things and figuring out they aren't for you. I wanted to be a surgeon and I still think it’s a super interesting job to have. Until I was actually in the situation where 8–5 or 8–8 schooling was the normal- Which I hated with all my heart. And this was just the starting, things were only going to get way more intense. Not doing the program seems like a pretty good idea right? But then I wouldn’t have known anything about it? It would’ve just been a big “what if?”

8. Sometimes change is all you need to feel better. Be it something as minor as a haircut or rearranging your room. Change is comforting. Don't stick to the same routine for years at a stretch. As unpopular as it is to leave an area where you’re nearly the best, that’s the easiest way to start new and learn so much more.

May’21

Spent time with Sniper(my dog), studied for school, volunteered to teach an online camp for kids. Things were cool.

And I joined Linkedin. Why? Cuz I was bored. THAT is where it all started. Idk what went through my head then, but I’m so happy it did. By the end of May because of the AMAZING LinkedIn recommendation system, I started coming across profiles that said TKS Innovators and NASA Interns.

Takeaway:

9. Worry is a predominant emotion in most of our lives. And it’s crucial for us to understand that it’s normal. A way to minimize the time you spend on it is by assessing the situation + its after-effects.

  • Will it matter in 3 days?
  • In a week?
  • In a month?

Being aware of this helps put things in perspective cuz I find it a bit unrealistic to not worry at all.

Jun, Jul & Aug’21

Needless to say, that’s what I spent my entire month(s) on

Stalking TKS student projects, exploring every inch, (or should I say pixel xD) of the website, + applying to both.

We also had to give Sniper away since no one was at home most of the time and it was selfish to keep him in such an environment :(

TKS or The Knowledge Society is the world’s top teen accelerator to receive Olympic-level training about emerging technologies and solve real-world problems through innovation. After seeing their website and student projects and I was like ‘HOLY SHIT THIS IS ACTUALLY CRAZY ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?’

My Book About the Science of Memory

This was also the time I started getting serious about writing my book about the Science of Memory after going down rabbit holes while working on my TKS application (interest sparked by that quiz I prepped for in 2020:D)

Memory is the sum total of what we remember. We learn and evolve as a person by remembering previous experiences. But, what’s the story behind it? There’s a whole world of microscopic chemical changes to unravel the functioning of memory.

From the story of microscopic neurons to the ethics behind removing one’s memory and genetically creating a memory to the impact created by first impressions, this book has it all.

I didn't get the NASA internship and I couldn't be a part of TKS due to financial reasons. There was absolutely no hope even after the aid I received. I figured I had nothing to lose and cold emailed a bunch of TKS students and alumni (I didn't even know cold emailing was a thing). And a day letter I get an email saying I was in the program 🤯

Got into TKS 🤘

Before this, I did try everything I could from trying to convince my parents, applying to financial aid like a billion times, and constantly following up with the TKS Fin-aid team (pretty sure I annoyed the shit outta them at one point cuz I just kept sending waaayy too many emails x_x). Nothing worked and EVERYONE told me that there wasn't anything else I could do. Which leads us to-

Takeaways:

10. If YOU want something real bad, don't give in to what others say. EVER. After feeling stuck and not enough for quite some time during the pandemic, TKS seemed like the best way for me to level up and learn more. To me, it was really important. But what's important to you isn't important to others simply because they're not you. And you don't have to spend any time justifying why you want what you want. All it takes is recognizing what you want + why + a tiny bit of crazy.

11. A lot of things look waaayy harder than they actually are. More often than not, they require a realistic amount of work. Nothing you cannot do.

12. Don't settle. Be it opportunities or relationships. If you feel ‘meh’ about it, that’s just your gut telling you that you can do so much better/more.

13. You only know what others want you to know about them. They could be going through the most traumatic events of their life. You wouldn't know. So don't be a douche. You have no idea what it’s doing to them. Be a nice person.

Sept’21

TKS was and is crazy

I don't think this review would be enough for all of it. I’ll probably write a whole new article about it after the program xD

I met a shit ton of crazy smart and interesting people + realized that there's sooo much to learn + had exponential mindset shifts- started thinking of what I want instead of functioning on autopilot.

Takeaways:

14. Contrary to popular opinion, age is your biggest advantage. People tell you you're too young to be doing anything ‘big’. Know that when people say that, they're often speaking with their capabilities in mind. Age is just a number. Its funny cuz young age (which is seen as a limitation) is the exact same thing that makes you an unconventional red dot in a sea of conventional white ones.

15. If your dreams aren't big enough that they scare the shit out of you, you’re not dreaming big enough(!!!)

16. Working on yourself and being authentic + building YOUR skills and knowledge helps you attract suitable opportunities.

Eg; you're a total smartass but you lie on the couch binging greys every day. You may be the smartest. But no one knows. And if people don't know, why would they care?

I also went on a hiking trip

Oct’21

Pondicherry

My month started off with a trip to a tropical beach city not too far from where I live. We had a great time in the city, and at the beach. It felt amazing to be outside 🏖 and travel ✈ after a really long time.

BUT that’s not what made the trip super memorable.

My first choice college (JIPMER, India) is in that city and I got to visit the campus! AND I did some cold outreach the night before. I didn’t expect a response at all since it was 10 pm, but I got great replies! Shoutout to Dr. Gopalkrishnan ⚕, a neurosurgeon I got in touch with for his great insights on emerging tech and brain surgery

Takeaway:

17. If you get an opportunity to travel, take it. It unlocks so many new opportunities and gives you a massive perspective shift that helps you figure out what actually matters and what YOU value.

Nov’21

This month is easily one of the best ones EVER. Going to NYC is cool. BUT getting sponsored to go on a trip after 2 years of not traveling + the way this opportunity popped up out of the blue + getting to meet a bunch of TKS kids in person + last min planning + low-key freaking out about everything made this experience 10x better xD

I’m still processing the whole experience, It was surreal. Right from getting the funds to not knowing the first thing about crypto to fiat conversion to sneaking into red carpet events and meeting founders every 10 mins to getting potential internship opportunities.

All while learning about NFTs + Blockchain, going around the city and getting lost, and almost dying of hypothermia (LOL that might be an exaggeration. or not)

The worm is THE COOLEST wallet project ever. Had an incredible time at the dropmints party. Met some super cool people like amlcodes, annazheng, Nittyb_xyz, and AnettRolikova! Got to talk to @simongrunfeld, a VIP Speaker, about different perspectives on nft awareness + adoption. And sooo many more people. I’ll write an article about the whole trip, I promise.

Not us accidentally asking JeremyJenson_ the founder of DeadHeadsNFT to take a picture of us at his own gallery X_X.

:))

Snuck into UT Austin?

After NFT@NYC I flew down to Texas (it was a total last-minute plan) to visit a couple of relatives and fam friends. I visited the Uni cuz why not. Getting in was easy.

I just walked up to a visual arts building and went in like I was a student there X_X. And people actually bought it that I went there (or so I’d like to believe).

Takeaway:

18. Confidence is keyyyyyy

NFT Art Collection on OpenSea

A day before NFT@NYC I had this crazy thought- what if I put up some NFTs.

As a total newb to this space, having something legit to show would make it so much easier to talk to people at the conference.

The only problems-

1) I had NO IDEA how to do that

2) Had less than 12 hours

But somehow I managed to get it done! Figure it out + Bias towards action + Done > Perfect. You can check out my work on OpenSea

Visiting NASA, Houston

I was able to go visit NASA’s Johnson Space Center. Coincidentally, I had packed a NASA sweatshirt for the trip. ;)

I learned a lot and also had a crazy amount of fun. They had a VR experience where the spaceship actually blew up. Should’ve been scary I think but I couldn’t wear my glasses with the VR headset so LOL.

Tech Hackathon

My team and I worked on a Blockchain + Crypto + IoT-based solution to reduce carbon emissions using the Proof of Stake by tracking your carbon footprint and incentivizing via CarboCoin whenever your footprint decreases

Making a Neuro Repository

Dec’21

Building in Public

This month I took up the challenge of building in public on Twitter for 31 days. I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about it in the beginning but now I realize the value it adds. For me specifically, I find it a great way to hold myself accountable

Assembling gRNAs into plasmids

My team and I worked on gene editing and designing homologous recombination templates with @benchling. We specifically worked with BRCA2, a human tumor suppressor gene aka breast cancer type 2 susceptibility protein responsible for repairing DNA

Exploring Emerging Tech

I spent the last few months of 2021 exploring Quantum Computing, Longevity, Personalised Med, Space Tech, VR AR, Artificial Intelligence, AGI, Blockchain, Crypto, Cancer Tech, Gene Editing, and of course- Brain-Computer Interfaces.

Jan’22

Building with Muse 2

Doing a Harvard Business Case

Analyzing the case about Starbucks in the Chinese market, and figuring out how to maximize profit was definitely a mind-blowing experience + I’d be lying if I said I didn't go a Lil bit crazy after this x_x

LOL, I got COVID last week. I technically still have it but all good now. (typed this in Jan)

It’s almost Feb again. Typing this seemed longer than the actual year LOL

Takeaways:

19. My biggest takeaway from this month would be that people are always ready to help you. But only if you let them. 2 minds are (always) greater than 1 when it comes to problem-solving.I was stuck with my BCI project for so long that I started to get really annoyed with it. A quick call w someone in the field was basically all it took to fix it. I could’ve reached out to him when I first started facing the issues with my projects and that would’ve saved me so much time.

Feb’ 22

A BCI Hackathon

Gene editing the sun lol. That was 100% clickbait, I'm sorry. But the context was that while brainstorming for hackathons this year I learned soo much and the first thing that happens then = getting really creative bad ideas.

This month I worked on a 24-hour focus hackathon. My team and I came up with the idea of assisting people suffering from blindness with a neural implant. We specifically focused on blindness caused by glaucoma, which is an eye condition that causes damage to the optic nerve.

Our idea was to electrically stimulate the visual cortex of the brain, which generates phosphenes. A phosphene is a spot of light that is produced when the retina or visual cortex is stimulated. However, phosphenes are not made of actual light. In fact, you can see phosphenes when you rub your eyes.

Medically, Phoesphenes are referred to as the phenomenon of seeing light without light🤯

We decided to use this phenomenon to our advantage by taking in visual information through a camera, sending it to the neural implant wirelessly, and converting those images into patterns of electricity to stimulate the visual cortex, allowing blind people to see those images as figures of light, made of phosphenes.

Although we didn’t win, this was a really fun experience and I got a deep understanding of how blindness is caused and potential solutions for it.

Working alongside Walmart on an Innovative project

More info about this on my Feb Newsletter👀

Second BCI Project

Check out how I replicated a mental state classification model using Brain-Computer Interfaces

Takeaway:

20. Your life could've been normal. Average. Stagnant.

But it’s not. You have ups and downs. That’s what makes life, well… life.

The alternative would be a very 😐 life.

Appreciate those who make you happy, and appreciate yourself. You're lucky to be here. But younalso earned it. That’s an oxymoron, IK. But it is what it is.

Trust me, I have no idea how we’re halfway through Feb 2022. Mentally, I’m still in 2019.

I feel 7 and 70 at the same time. But apparently, this week I’m 17.

I appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to read this, I hope you found it insightful!

You can contact me via Twitter, or LinkedIn. To stay updated with my projects and growth, you can sign up for my monthly newsletter here :))

--

--