How becoming a Life Coach has filled my life with gratitude and meaning — Coach to a Fortune by Arfeen Khan

Chandni Chugh
3 min readJul 14, 2020

--

I remember it like it was yesterday. Walking into a seminar room with zero understanding about the purpose of the seminar. All I knew was that I had recently put in my papers at my job and was on my notice period. I had time on my hands and thought I’d go check it out. I mean, what was the harm, right? That day is one of the few days that I hold immense gratitude for in my life. That’s the day I decided to go on a journey in becoming a Life Coach.

Now I had NO idea what a Life Coach did or who they were. I was pretty naive to the entire concept and understanding of this ‘field’. Forget thinking about ever becoming one, I did not even know such a term or field existed. I had always heard of sports coaches, but a Life Coach? Never. Also, one of the criteria in the training process of becoming a Life Coach was to actually get coached ourselves. Now obviously my first thought was, “wait but, I don’t need coaching.” But trust me, we all need a Life Coach, I can assure you of that. Even before the seminar ended, I remember being the first person to head to the back of the room and register myself. What really drew me towards this field was that I would actually get to help people, real people, make a difference in their lives, make them believe in themselves again, make them realize that life is beautiful and wonderful, just as they are.

All of this happened barely a year ago. And the training was about 3 months. Within 3 months, I became a Certified Life Coach. I was now able to impact people’s lives, help them find meaning and purpose, guide them to create actionable outcomes for their life. Life became so exciting and purposeful.

Fast forward to today, I have a beautiful community of coaches whom I can reach out to at any time of the day or night, I have a wonderful set of really close friends (who are also coaches under Arfeen Khan), I have this amazing mentor, Arfeen Khan, who reeks with generosity and thoughtfulness, and I have a bunch of coachees whom I am currently coaching!

What is amazing to see is that while my life has completely changed ever since I became a coach, not just by coaching others, but in the process continuously coaching myself, my mom has actually told me about how even she feels the difference within herself, ever since I became a coach! (I have not even coached her!). That’s the power of becoming a coach. You start seeing life with an abundance of meaning, purpose and gratitude and that is what I am most thankful for today. And I am more so thankful to my mentor, Arfeen Khan, for having given me this opportunity to become such a wonderful and outward-focused human being.

--

--