How I Learned About Femilift

Chantal Dell Aria
6 min readMar 24, 2016

--

I was driving home from work one night and I heard a radio ad that said, “…she will enhance your sex life with a 10 minute painless procedure. Who doesn’t want to have a great experience in bed?!” I thought it was the absolute STRANGEST thing to be talking about on the radio; that is such a taboo topic, let alone to openly speak about. Needless to say, I was very intrigued and turned up the volume to listen to the rest of the ad.

When I got home I immediately went to Rotembergmd.com. Firstly, her website drew me in — “Look good, feel good…” are powerful words. I did some research on Vaginal Rejuvenation and then stumbled upon FemiLift. It sounded like such an abstract idea, I had to schedule a consultation and see if this is something that would really work for me. I told my husband I was considering doing this, and being the very smart man he answered, “I don’t think you need to change anything about yourself, but if this is what you want to do and it’ll make you happy, you have my support.”

I thought about that comment a lot, and it really was something I wanted to do for myself. I love my daughter to the moon and back, but I don’t really love what she did to my body, even 2 whole years later. So I decided to give Dr. Rotemberg’s office a call the next day. Not only did her website mention that she was the top female plastic surgeon in Miami, she candidly spoke on the radio about a topic most women are timid to bring up. I had to find out for myself what this was all about.

Consultation

Her office was a 40 minute drive from my house, but if she really was the best it would totally be worth it. As soon as I walked through the doors, I knew this was the right choice for me! The office was beautiful and the staff was so warm and welcoming. And as soon as I spent a few minutes in the exam room with Dr. Silvia Rotemberg, it solidified my decision in choosing her.

She asked some personal questions, but she made me feel comfortable and safe in sharing my concerns. I told her how it doesn’t feel as tight down there as it used to, and sex just didn’t feel the same. Certain positions didn’t feel good anymore, and it took a lot longer to get warmed up because I had vaginal dryness. And I can’t count how many Kegels I’ve done since, but it didn’t change anything. Sex just wasn’t that enjoyable since I gave birth 2 years ago.

After telling her these very personal concerns and details, she kindly recommended a FemiLift for me. I had already read about it on her website, and it did sound interesting. She went into a little more detail and explained how it could personally help me. It was nice to know that there was something out there that could make my body feel like it did before my daughter. ESPECIALLY hearing it from a fellow mother.

I did have a couple questions during the consultation that I thought may have been bad ones, but it turns out they were very commonly asked questions by other patients too. I have a darker skin complexion so I wasn’t able to get laser treatments for my face, so I had asked if this would be a similar scenario. She told me that since the vaginal skin doesn’t have melanin, it could be treated safely. I had also asked if it would diminish the sensation in my clitoris, which she reassured this procedure will not alter that area of the vagina.

I’m not going to lie, even with all the positives that would come from this pain-free, non-surgical procedure, I was a little scared. The thought of a laser procedure being performed on such a sensitive area made me nervous. Not to mention having gone through this struggle for 2 years and all of a sudden it will just go away after a few visits. It was a strange emotional combination of anxious and excited; nonetheless I was ready to do it.

The Preparation

I knew usually with surgeries there is a lot of preparation involved like taking certain medications, not taking certain medications, and a lot of tests and exams that need to be completed the weeks leading up. Dr. Rotemberg told me that there was no extensive preparation I had to do for a Femilift procedure, which was very helpful with my busy schedule. I didn’t need to take any prescribed medications and I wouldn’t need numbing cream. I only had to see my gynecologist for a routine visit to make sure I was healthy and ready for Femilift.

The Procedure

Dr. Rotemberg explained how the procedure works in simple terms. She told me that more often than not, after a pregnancy, Kegels aren’t enough to alone strengthen the pelvic area. It is the muscles that loosen with childbirth, which causes the skin to stretch also. She also explained how a FemiLift laser procedure is less invasive than other options like a Vaginoplasty, which I personally didn’t quite need; I liked that.

Femilift was FDA approved, and the vaginal resurfacing laser is safe procedure meant to restore your vagina to a more youthful state with the use of laser energy. The vaginal probe, which is about the size of a finger, reaches the whole circumference of the vagina to increase the production of collagen, which is what tightens the vagina. It also strengthens the ligaments that surround the bladder. I hadn’t experienced urinary leakage, but it could help if I experienced it in the future, which she said is a possibility. Not to mention the procedure itself is only a matter of minutes, and I didn’t need anesthesia so I could drive myself home. She told me that for lasting results, I would only need 2 more treatments; I was glad to hear this.

Healing Process

Dr. Rotemberg reassured me that the feeling is similar to a pap-smear, and it really was. The procedure was very short, and I was able to return right to my daily routine. I didn’t have to take any downtime, and I was able to get back to taking care of my daughter the same day. All I had to do was hold off on having sex for 5 days until the area was fully recovered. Afterward, all the side effects were good, including increased sensation and lubrication! It was nice to undergo such a life changing procedure without all the hassle that comes with a full on surgery.

Cost

When it comes to any altering of the body, you want to make sure you completely trust your doctor. Ultimately, your results and well-being are in their hands. After speaking with Dr. Rotemberg and seeing her previous results and successes, I fully trusted her. Plus this procedure was one of her specialties.

As far as the cost, I think it was very fair. This is not a cheap industry, but I would MUCH rather spend a little more on something like this and be ensured quality; especially because of how delicate the area is. If you try and go the cheap route on this you’ll probably end up spending more money on a revision down the line, and even possibly face infection. So it was very reassuring seeing her actual results and knowing what I am paying for, top-notch quality. You get what you pay for, and I wanted excellence, which she delivered! No wonder she can claim being the top female plastic surgeon in Miami, because she really is!

Final Results

The procedure was not nearly as bad as I thought it’d be. There was a tiny bit of discomfort (mostly just because of my nerves,) but with Dr. Rotemberg’s kind and supportive words, this was truly an experience of a lifetime. I could not have asked for better results; I truly mean this. The way I feel about myself now is hard to put in words, but simply, I feel like a whole new woman. This newfound confidence and sex appeal has changed my life. Not to mention (I can’t believe I’m saying this) sex is absolutely amazing now. Not that there was an issue with my marriage, but it has made it 5 times better. If I want to get any more procedures done in the future I will definitely come back to Dr. Silvia; I completely and fully trust her.

I know this is a hush-hush topic for some, as it was for me, but Dr. Rotemberg helped me see that there’s nothing to be ashamed of. This is a common occurrence after childbirth and it’s okay to address it and want to do something about. If you are even slightly considering Femilift, I highly recommend speaking with Dr. Rotemberg. She helped the way I feel about myself, and she can help you too.

Thank you SO much for this life changing experience!

Chantal D.

--

--