Christmas Feels Different

After I met you.

Charing Kam
1 min readJan 4, 2019

Before I met you, Christmas was like any other day.

Christmas was a holiday, but not for me.

It used to be quiet, and silent, and made up of hasty plans for a family dinner.

It used to be just another free weekend, when I could catch up on TV, movies, or cleaning my room.

It used to be irrelevant.

After I met you, Christmas became a behemoth.

Christmas became a celebration.

Now, it is noisy, and messy, and made up of long-awaited turkey and ham.

Now, it is the busiest weekend of the year, when parents are circling over stoves, small talk is mandatory, and cleaning is still required.

Now, it is an indication of life.

Soon, it will become an indication of the commitment we have.

After, it will become an obligation.

We will complain and roll our eyes and take three days to recover.

We will tell ourselves that we will go away for the holidays.

But, we will stay, and let Christmas continue.

--

--

Charing Kam

Fueled by stubbornness, ice cream, and tea. Currently writing on Substack under "Many-Track Mind".