TV shows I’m watching that aren’t about white men

Charis Bury
5 min readJun 15, 2017

--

(aka Netflix and woke)

Dear White People

Dear White People (Netflix)

Dear White People is a Netflix original based on the 2014 movie of the same name. I hadn’t seen the film but was drawn in by the trailer on Netflix, and well… can you imagine me not watching this show?

While I hate this overly airbrushed aesthetic Netflix seems to be employing in all of its teen dramas, I happen to give less shits about it here as the acting is good and the story and dialogue are pleasingly woke while still recognising the funny, awkward nuances that come with navigating race relations.

Dear White People walks a refreshing line between being direct with its message while not taking its self too seriously. Its self-aware and self-deprecating enough to potentially charm the un-woke. Watch it for the awkward-cute teen drama, and I promise you’ll hardly notice that you’re being educated.

Younger

Younger (TVLAND or Stan)

For those of you who grew up watching Gilmore Girls (me) and who were totally heartbroken when Amy Sherman-Palladino’s next venture, Bunheads got cancelled (also me), you may remember Sutton Foster for being excellent on the aforementioned cancelled show. Well you can imagine how buzzed I was to discover that she is in this other show, that is definitely not cancelled (five seasons and going strong), and it’s made by the peeps behind another show you may have grown up watching, Sex and The City.

In Younger, Foster plays 40-year-old divorced mother Liza who is trying to crack her way back into her old career by pretending she’s 26. In the process she lands herself a hot, young boyfriend, a girl gang (headed by Hilary-omg-yes-finally-Duff), and a whole new vocabulary of things (kudos to the writers) Millennials actually say.

We are obsessed with this show, not just because it’s funny and smart, but because it does a really great job of talking about feminism and age without being obvious or deadly boring. One of the best characters in the show is Liza’s boss, Diana, a successful marketing exec in her 40s (and actually living them) who as a contrast to Liza, is dealing with all the shit bits of ageing very openly.

This show is fantastic, please check it out.

Terrace House

Terrace House: Aloha State (Netflix)

I stumbled upon Terrace House a few weeks ago and immediately became hooked. When I read the blurb it said something about a reality show and I guessed it was like The Real World, which it is, but for two things: its all in Japanese and its fucking funny.

The thing that makes this show really special is that between scenes of action from the house of six 20-somethings’ passive-aggression over dishes and and poolside flirtations, you are transported to a studio of six Japanese TV personalities who are HILARIOUS.

I say, if you have to watch ‘reality’ shows, they may as well teach you about other cultures and be genuinely entertaining.

Greenleaf

Greenleaf (Netflix)

Greenleaf was an obvious choice for me: it has Oprah, scandal and sex, all set in a family-run megachurch in Memphis. I die.

Not only does this show have an almost entirely black cast, but it touches on subjects that the African American community have unique historical and cultural perspectives on, like infidelity and homosexuality.

This show isn’t winning any awards for it’s writing, but it’s fun and drama-filled, perfect for nights when you don’t want anything too taxing.

Master of None

Master of None (Netflix)

Where do I begin? I love it soooooo much.

Aziz Ansari (you might know him as ‘Treat Yo’self’ Tom from Parks & Recreation) not only stars in Master of None, but co-wrote it with bff Alan Yang (producer, Parks & Recreation). Aziz is a winning combination of relatable, comically genius and cute-as-a-button and his loveable character Dev keeps you completely invested.

The show itself is clearly trying to break rules and try new things, and as you’ll see the episodes are often steeped in filmic references and contain socially important themes like race and gender. This show is fresh AF and you need to watch it right now while it’s completely relevant.

Honestly one of the best TV shows I’ve seen in years. It gives me hope for mankind.

Big Little Lies

Big Little Lies (HBO)

I watched this a while ago and totally devoured the whole thing in a few days. As far as I’m concerned there’s not much more they could have done to peak my interest in this show. Murder + female powerhouse cast + rich housewives = HELLO.

It’s suitably dark and moody, but thankfully laced with realism and comedy. I think it’s fair to say that it’s one of Reese Witherspoon’s best roles yet. She slays as complicated, three-dimensional Madeline who is at once stereotypical A-Type personality super-mom and refreshingly nuanced human with capacity for change.

The acting is fantastic and the story was certainly all I hoped it would be. My only complaint is that I wish that they had given a Woman of Colour a meatier role than that given Zoe Kravitz.

Atlanta

Atlanta (FX)

I’ve only just started watching Atlanta, but I’m really liking the line it walks between kooky comedy and fresh, modern drama. There’s something very Donald Glover about that balance, which makes sense as he not only stars in Atlanta but is the show’s creator.

The show is about relationships and family, trying to overcome who you are to your neighbourhood and transcend who you were in High School. It’s funny and sad and poetic. So far I’m loving it hard.

--

--

Charis Bury

Melbourne-based • Soap maker & Witch (Soapwitch?) • Writing sporadically; and often about movies.