What I hope to learn in CS3216

How to make products that people actually want

Charisma Kausar
New Writers Welcome

--

CS3216 Software Product Engineering for Digital Markets is an undergraduate Computer Science course at the National University of Singapore (NUS).

Photo by Team Nocoloco on Unsplash

I have always dreamed of having my own tech startup to make a meaningful impact. But if I want this so much, why don’t I have a startup yet? Well, here are the 3 ̶e̶x̶c̶u̶s̶e̶s̶ challenges that have held me back and my strategies to overcome them through CS3216.

1. No Great Ideas — The Eureka Hunt.

In a world saturated with apps, it is hard to find problems that can be solved with my app development skills. Hence, through CS3216, I hope to uncover problems that are overlooked or underserved by existing solutions. I want to leverage the diverse expertise and perspectives of my wonderful CS3216 classmates to find our “secret sauce” as a team to solve these overlooked problems.

Generative AI Apps Landscape

For example, the rise of ChatGPT brought many gimmicky AI-powered apps. I have tried many of these slide-making and video-editing apps that are extremely generic and don’t address real customer needs. In…

--

--

Charisma Kausar
New Writers Welcome

NUS Computer Science student | I write about Software Engineering, Artificial Intelligence, UX Design, and Entrepreneurship | ckcherry23.github.io