How I Got a Job Within Three Weeks During the Pandemic Using LinkedIn

Charissa Enget
9 min readMay 22, 2020
Image by fauxels

For the past five months, I applied to engineering jobs to multiple application sites with little results. At least an hour of each day was dedicated to submitting job applications. It was tiresome, applications for each job often took over an hour- tailoring my resume to specific jobs, writing cover letters, and filling in the same information from my resume on each job application site.

Weeks turned into months. I’d applied to over a hundred jobs, wracking up hundreds of hours of work filling out applications, with very little to show for it. Eighty percent of the jobs I had applied to never even acknowledged my application. I didn’t even receive a notification saying I’d been rejected. Twenty percent of jobs gave me an automated rejection email. The phrase, “We regret to inform you we’ve decided not to move forward with your application,” became my worst enemy. Those often came months after I applied. However, it was better than silence.

I became pretty discouraged. I’d heard depressing statistics, like how 80% of resumes are never even seen by recruiters. They’re thrown out by prescreening software. I didn’t even know if my resume was being read.

Two months into job applications, the Coronavirus hit. Things became even more bleak as the few interviews I got were rescinded…

--

--

Charissa Enget

Girl who lived in Thailand and won’t stop talking about it