Insecurity From Childhood Still Plagues Me

It’s Risky to Have High, Unattainable Goals

Charlene Ann Mildred
5 min readApr 18, 2024
Insecure Self-Conscious Woman Checking her Body in the Mirror — Photo by nicoletaionescu from CANVA PRO

From as early as I can remember, the pangs of insecurity have shadowed my steps.

Growing up, a particular sting came from feeling less knowledgeable than my peers. This wasn’t a small matter of not knowing the latest pop culture or sports stats. It was an inadequacy that seeped into my whole being. It affected how I saw myself and my place in the world.

It began in my mid-teens when social circles and fitting in felt like the entire universe. My neighborhood friends were quick to discuss many topics. They seemed like experts, but they unknowingly made my insecurities worse. Each conversation about current events, science, history, or literature reflected my perceived deficiencies. I am painfully aware of every moment I offered and each nod I gave. I struggled to stitch together any relevant words.

This struggle was ongoing.

It wasn’t just about not knowing enough. It was about feeling less than everyone around me. Soon, these feelings of inadequacy colored my self-esteem. It was already on shaky ground. It didn’t matter where I was. I could be at school, in social gatherings, or alone in my room. The burden of my perceived ignorance was always with me.

Determined to shed this unwanted companion, I pursued a relentless quest for knowledge. I filled my days with newspapers, books, and endless online articles. This was no leisurely pursuit of wisdom but a frantic scramble to fill every gap in my understanding. Looking back, I see the expectations I placed on myself were not just unrealistic. They were chains I had made, link by link, to prove my worth through smarts.

I worked hard and learned a lot. But I still didn’t find satisfaction. The harsh standards I had set made every new piece of information a reflection of what I still didn’t know.

I was stuck in a vicious cycle. I learned, criticized myself, and felt insecure.

It trapped me in constant dissatisfaction.

The road to breaking this cycle was neither quick nor easy. It took years of therapy. I had to look inside and do the hard work of dismantling the irrational standards I had set for myself. One of the moments in this was acknowledging the role of my ADHD in this struggle. The disorder made it very hard to maintain. It magnified my frustration and inadequacy.

Therapy taught me the value of self-compassion and the power of positive affirmations. Slowly, I began to see knowledge not as a battleground for proving my worth but as a source of curiosity and joy. This shift was transformative. It allowed me to celebrate my small progress. I could accept the ups and downs of my learning without harsh judgment.

My struggle was not just with a lack of knowledge but also with how I internalized this gap to reflect my worth.

This reflection led to a realization: knowledge is infinite, and no single person can grasp all of it. Accepting this fact was. It helped reduce the pressure of trying to know everything. It allowed me to enjoy learning, not just the outcome.

Psychotherapist introduced me to the “growth mindset.” This happened as I have a therapy and self-help resources. This concept became a cornerstone of my recovery. According to this belief, we can improve our abilities and intelligence through dedication and hard work. I had a growth mindset. It allowed me to appreciate my efforts. I saw my past failures as steps to future successes.

I began to set smaller, doable goals to break my habit of setting lofty, unattainable goals. I used this strategy to rebuild my self-esteem. Each small victory added a brick to the fragile foundation of my self-worth. Over time, these bricks formed a sturdy structure of confidence and self-acceptance. I learned to celebrate the goals I achieved and the effort I put into reaching them.

Also, I added regular self-assessments to my routine.

I reflected on what I learned and how I managed challenges. This practice helped me see patterns in my thinking and behavior. They either helped or hurt my growth. I identified these patterns. I made deliberate changes to promote a better mindset.

Another aspect of my healing was building a supportive community.

I sought out friends and groups with similar interests in learning and self-improvement. These connections provided a sense of belonging. They also offered a network of encouragement and accountability. We shared resources. We discussed ideas. We celebrated each other’s progress. These things enriched my learning and boosted my social confidence.

Today, I see each day as a chance to learn.

It’s not to meet a standard but to satisfy my curiosity and understand the world. This shift has transformed learning from a source of anxiety into one of my greatest joys. Self-improvement is continuous. While the shadows of old insecurities sometimes loom, they no longer control my life.

I have also realized the importance of maintaining mental health. Just as we tend to our physical health with diet, exercise, and sleep, our mental health needs similar care. Mindfulness, meditation, and journaling techniques are critical to my daily routine. They help me manage stress and maintain mental clarity.

To anyone struggling with inadequacy or insecurity, know you are not alone.

Self-acceptance may be challenging.

But it is also full of potential for growth and change.

Please subscribe here to receive the latest insightful stories by email.

Did you find this enjoyable? If so, remember to hit the clap button, which you can press up to 50 times and comment. Take advantage of more from me — ensure you’re following if you still need to. Thank you for being an integral part of my journey.

--

--

Charlene Ann Mildred

I'm a writer and content creator who loves to share tips on how to maximize your productivity. Email: charleneannmildredfbarroga@gmail.com