Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

DAO Index: Certification Marks, First Analysis, and Open Rating Systems

Charles Adjovu

--

What is the DAO Index?

The DAO Index is a rating system and survey for analyzing DAOs based on a DAO’s adherence to ten organizing principles that connect all DAOs, and to help develop an information disclosure standard for DAOs that can also help the public.

The DAO Index is an outgrowth of the DGov Score Framework project and an update to the original work on creating an instrument for analyzing organizations based on their distributed governance practices.

Certification Mark

I think this is some decent work towards a preliminary design for a certification mark for the DAO Index.

Take a look here:

First Analysis under the Survey

The Survey is up to Version 0.6!

I completed my first analysis under Version 0.5 and 0.6 on dOrg and even had an interview with a dOrg member to go over the survey.

You can find the survey and my analysis of dOrg here. Mind you, the spreadsheets are super messy right now.

The survey was (luckily) well received and I shall continue to analyze DAOs as I continue to improve the survey.

The DAOs I think I will analyze next are:

  1. Raid Guild
  2. MetaCartel
  3. Sevens Foundation?
  4. Seed Club or FWB
  5. Rekt or Forefront
  6. Index Coop
  7. Colony

Open Rating System and Database

I am also thinking about how to turn the DAO Index into an open rating system where anyone, if they can pass a basic test, can be allowed to add and review ratings of DAOs in the DAO Index database.

I was looking at PrimeDAO’s Prime Rating system and I found it to be extremely informative for making such a system. I will be looking at this further after I complete more analyses under the survey or the survey reaches Version 1.0.

--

--