Beginner’s Guide to Streaming on Twitch

Charlie Deets

--

Lately I’ve been fascinated with watching people stream on Twitch. I get to peek into their lives, watch them play games, make things and generally be awkward and bizarre.

For whatever reason, I too have felt compelled to participate in this medium and I’ve spend the past few months learning and exploring how it all works. I thought I’d share what I learned so far.

One of the most rewarding parts of the experience has been exploring and playing with the tool-set that streamers use. It is a different kind of creativity than I’ve experienced before and it’s really fun.

1. Basics

Twitch Account

This is obvious, but you will need an account on Twitch to get started. Follow and friend everyone you know IRL. This will be helpful later on.

This is OBS and I’m also in the process of moving

OBS

Open Broadcaster Software is very capable software to broadcast your stream to Twitch. I’ll walk you through the basics of what you need to know.

  1. Download OBS and install. If you are using Windows, right click on OBS and ‘Run as Administrator’ so it automatically grants the software…

--

--