Communication in Apex Legends

Charlie Deets
9 min readFeb 18, 2019

While playing battle royale games over the past few years, I’ve said some of these phrases a few thousand times:

I see something…up there…wait….over there…up by that thingy.

The circle is closing in, we gotta go. Yo, stop looting we gotta go!

I found a shield, who needs it? No one? Are you sure? OK I’m keeping it for myself.

This language is filled with ambiguity and requires additional conversation to clarify or resolve. Strong team communication is absolutely essential to battle royale game play. The best squads are attentive to details and can clearly communicate information in the least amount of words possible:

Enemy contact, 155, top of the hill, engaged with another squad, let’s third party them

I have a large shield on my marker, bathroom of the second floor

There’s a drop at 270, behind the red house, I’m going for it, I need a spotter

If your team is communicating using language like this, you will engage better with…

--

--