Charli
2 min readMar 15, 2024

--

I’ve thought about this possibility with all of the anti-trans legislation and Republican politicians openly talking about a national ban on all gender affirming care for not only youth but adults if they were to win the presidency and control of Congress. They’re already talking about a national abortion ban, so what’s to stop them from doing the same to us? I doubt anyone who isn’t transgender or has a child, spouse, or sibling who is would really care enough about out our plight to raise their voices in protest and solidarity. How could we expect that to happen when a large portion of female voters in the US are okay with their own reproduction rights, and those of their daughters, stripped away from them? What chance do we as a small minority community have if the election goes red? I’m fortunate enough to have had a couple surgeries, but not everything I’d like. And the closer we get to the election, the more worried I am that I’m running out of time to make some very serious life altering decisions. The stress I feel is overwhelming. And I’m sure I’m not alone. Even if there wasn’t an outright ban, I’m sure there would be legislation passed under Republican leadership allowing government funded and private insurance companies to cease covering gender affirming care, which would pretty much eliminate care for most people because of the financial costs. So much is at stake for us in this next election. We need to stress the importance of voting Democratic to anyone who will listen and empathize with our dilemma. Our lives depend upon it. Thanks for writing this.

https://newrepublic.com/article/178576/republicans-reveal-end-game-fight-trans-kids

--

--

Charli

SoCal trans girl navigating life one day at a time. I really enjoy reading and relating to the stories here on Medium. Thank you for sharing.