To a Rocking Decade ahead!

Charmain Tan
5 min readJan 1, 2020

It was hard finding the top 9 highlights for 2019 before 2020 hits. After scrambling through the photos. Thought these 9 pretty much sums up what I found most valuable to me in 2019 and am super excited for this new decade!

  1. GOD. God became really real in my life. From being anti-christ when I was in school and wondering why do people worship a GOD that we cannot see, to one whom puts GOD first in it all. I realised through the years that at the end of the day, GOD is our master weaver, he already had everything planned out. We just got to follow his path and grow with it. AM thankful to be BAPTISED in 2019. To an even more divine 2020 year of abundance. (Photo: Me sharing my testimonial during my baptism)

2. LOVE. Starting with understanding GOD’s LOVE and hence learning SELF LOVE. I have always been really hard on myself for everything. Expected a lot more of myself to achieve the impossible. And when I don’t, I started feeling lousy about myself and self victimise. Imposter Syndrome starts kicking in. But its only when you know how to LOVE yourself, then will we know how to LOVE others. Looking forward to a 2020 filled with LOVE. (Photo: My Selfie)

3. RELATIONSHIPS. This year of Singlehood has not been easy at all. But I am super thankful for the friends that I have been reconnected with. Its not the amount of friends we have but the depth of friendships that matter. Being able to be authentic and vulnerable to each other, and help each other however state we are. God definitely have a reason for the connections he put in our lives. (Photo: With my forum: 12apostles)

4. WIN-WIN. Never used to believe in motivational programs but this year, I joined one of such. Money & You. Besides the amazing friends whom I knew, I am really thankful to experience the X-Y game. Being brought up in Singapore, many of us have been taught to be very competitive. I lost faith in collaborations at some point in my entrepreneurial journey as I see many other self-seeking individuals. The animal kingdom game in Money & You, showed me how as long as we BELIEF. We can surely lead and bring about a WIN-WIN to hunt in Packs. Looking forward to winning more with my alliances in education and tech. (Photo: With my Money & You peers)

5. PURPOSE OF LIFE. Your WHY you do what you do. I have always knew God called me for Business as Missions. But never knew what it really meant till my trip in Myanmar. Seeing how blessed we are and how much more we can make an impact in the lives of many others whom may not have been brought up in the same environment as us definitely gave me a fire and driving force beyond what me as a human can imagine. Finally understanding why God led me to run a tech company even though I have zero tech background and to run an education company though I never was an academia, because its not about the education or tech itself but about how we learn what we learn and what we can do with the talents and gifts that God has blessed us with. Looking forward to building up education for these kids in the area of digitalisation (Photo: my talk with the kids in Myanmar)

6. TO BE THE BEST VERSION OF OURSELVES. So this year, I won the Forbes 30 Under 30 award. Something I never imagined I would. Who am I to? But This award led me to want to do even more and grow even more to be of value to others. Everyone only see the glory behind the awards that we win, but not the waddling struggles below the water. The truth is I got it at a season when I was really struggling in my business too and was surrendering to God for whats next. This has been a year of discovery for me on where the business and product should go towards and I am thankful for the clarity for where to bring QuickDesk to in the next decade. Its going to be a decade of challenges but I am excited for what lies ahead. Growth is tough but not growing is tougher. The core of living is to constantly be the best version of ourselves. (Photo: Forbes 30Under30)

7. LEARN and GROW as a Team and Community. So I started the education arm of the business in 2019, in alignment to what we do for Sales & Marketing automation. Even though it has been pretty much a roller coaster. I am thankful for a TEAM that supports through the ups and the downs. And to really be of value to our SMEs in the area of digitalisation. No man is an island and I cannot be more than thankful for my team. Ending 2019 with a critical and honest feedback session with them, though some of the facts are hard to digest, I am thankful to have a team that can have crucial conversations with me. I will grow for them and with them for the community. (Photo: Post training)

8. Timebound LIFE. Each time I grant wishes for kids with terminal illnesses at Make-a-wish foundation, I am always reminded of how vulnerable life is and that we might just all be away from this earth. Being able to fulfil the wishes of these kids bring me much Joy and in fact they are my teachers of life. Whatever we go through at our workplace, the stress, and all, is really nothing in comparison to them. Time is the only asset that we cannot earn back. Hence reminding myself to really manage my mindspace and heartspace better in 2020, so that I can be the best version of myself each day. (Photo: Made a computer for a wishchild)

9. VICTORY at the end of it all. So this year, I joined Spartan Race. The 13km was really cruel. With the obstacles to overcome and wondering where is the end of it all. Completing the race, brought me much Joy. The Joy came from realising how we can accomplish what we would have thought unachievable initially with faith and trust in the process. Its a reminder to self that whatever challenges we face daily, its part of the process towards smelling the fruits of success at the end of the day. Looking forward to clearing the various obstacles for growth personally, spiritually and professionally in 2020. (Photo: Spartan Race)

--

--