I Read: ' The Zahir’.

charu Braswal
2 min readJun 13, 2021

--

I recently finished reading'The Zahir' by Paulo Coelho. Do I like it? That I'll tell you in the end.

'The Zahir' is a story of a very famous and successful writer who lives in Paris with his wife Esther. One day Esther suddenly disappeared, and everything came crashing down in the life of the protagonist. Paulo Coelho doesn’t give a name to the protagonist, and we read the whole story with the perspective of the protagonist. In the very beginning, Paulo Coelho mentions the disappearance of Esther.

Why did she disappear? This question is always in our mind while reading the book.

If readers want to know the answer of this question. They need to have patience because this book is pretty thick, and the journey is long.

Apart from both major characters in the book, there is one more important character. Mikhail the mystery man. Last time before disappearing Esther was with Mikhail. When Mikhail character is introduced in the story, only one thing comes up in the mind, Maybe he knows where Esther is.

Paulo Coelho showed the evolution of Mikhail and the protagonist's friendship very beautifully in the book.

Initially, I didn't like the book much, but as the story preceded, I was also very curious to know why Esther left.

I got my answers at the end of the book.

This Paulo Coelho book is very different from all his other books. Readers definitely need patience to read this book because the story takes time to unfold and reveal secrets.

--

--

charu Braswal
0 Followers

I'm still discovering why I write. When I'll find it, I'll let you know.