Why I Journal Everyday… (And Maybe You Should Too)

Chase Cottle
5 min readMar 8, 2016

--

Today marks my 439th consecutive day of writing in my journal.

To be fair, I previously went 730 days in a row, but fell out of habit before I reached this streak, so I still have a few days to go to beat my old record, but I plan on blowing it out of the water, I’m talking about never missing a day for the rest of my life.

Because of these streaks, I have become a huge fan of journaling everyday. Some might call it “free writing” or “stream of consciousness” which is probably more accurate but I like to think of it as my journal.

I have two journals for which I make entries each and every day, and a third for when I’m especially inspired to write something down. They are simply Evernote notebooks that I open up on my computer, or iPhone, or iPad and hit “new note” and I let thoughts and ideas flow.

Journal #1 : “*Journal”

Yes, its actually titled that way in Evernote, so it’s always at the top of my notebooks…

In my journal notebook I do a simple accounting for each day. I used to try to come up with creative titles for each day but that took too much time out of what I really wanted to accomplish, which was to write, so now I just title each note whatever the date is, like this: “160308”. I write about what cool things happened, what things I’m excited about, how I made progress on personal and career goals, and really anything else that comes to mind.

I typically follow “free writing” protocol, or at least what I have understood of it. I completely blacken my screen or move the window out of view so I can’t see the words that I am writing, and then I just write.

Sometimes I write 1000+ words, sometimes its just a sentence, but everyday I am sure to make an entry for what happened the previous day. On occasion, my writing turns into a brief account of the day before and then what I am excited about or deep in thought on for the new day, but the key is to just make it happen.

Sometimes my writing turns into a goal setting session with my self.

Sometimes my writing yields a clean, clear cut, hit-list of things I am going to accomplish.

And sometimes its just, “I’m exhausted from yesterday, but it was good.”

All of which are acceptable to me, I just want to write something for everyday. It has this cool self motivating effect for me, where I feel like even if I did nothing else for the entire day I have at least accomplished a journal entry.

I think it provides an incredibly powerful motive to your life and allows you to record the details of what is happening to you.

It allows me to more quickly recall events and information of the past because not only did I experience it, but I wrote it down and took a little bit of additional effort to record that experience.

I write in my journal everyday because it makes me feel good, preserves something of the details of my life, and helps me be happy.

Maybe you should give it a shot?

Journal #2 : “Live in Thanksgiving Daily”

This journal currently has 490 consecutive entries.

The title for this journal comes from a talk given by Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin. He was an apostle for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, but passed away a few years ago. He poised this question:

Think for a moment, if you will, of someone you know who is truly happy. We’ve all met those who seem to radiate happiness. They seem to smile more than others; they laugh more than others — just being around them makes us happier as well.

Now think of someone you know who isn’t happy at all. Perhaps they seem 10 years older than they are, drained of energy — perhaps they are angry or bitter or depressed.

What is the difference between them? What are the characteristics that differentiate the happy from the miserable? Is there something that unhappy people can do to be happier? I believe there is.

He goes on to explain and detail that the difference between these people is that of living in Thanksgiving, or really being grateful.

It’s baffling to me that in a world where so many of us are so fortunate with so many things that we aren’t more grateful for those things we have, or have achieved. I attribute much of that success as blessings I’ve been given, and whether or not you believe in God you have been given a lot in our life.

I love that a lot of people are talking about how this impacts their life because I think it is incredibly important to remember.

Be Grateful.

When you are grateful you are happier, more forgiving, and an all around better person to be around, and who wouldn’t want that?

Have you ever tried to be mad at someone while expressing gratitude for them? It’s basically impossible.

So, my simple protocol for this “gratitude journal” is to write down 10 things I am grateful for right at that moment, or that day. I don’t care if its the same as yesterday or if its 10 different foods, but 10 things I’m really grateful for in my life.

Then I make a list of 5 goals for the day, not to-do type items but goals I have for my personal progression that day. Characteristics I want to work on exhibiting better and following.

To be honest, some days I probably fail miserably, but each day I write down more things I’m grateful for and more micro goals I can work on, and surely but slowly I think I’m making a little bit of progress.

What 10 things are you grateful for today?

Go ahead and write them down, I’ll wait right here for you while you do it.

You’ll be happier if you do. I mean you don’t have to do it, and you can add it to your “to-do” list I guess, but you might as well just take a 30 second break and think / write down those things you are grateful for today specifically.

Did you do it? Cool…

Journal #3 “My Super Secret Public Journal”

Surprise!

I told you there were only two journals that I write in everyday, but I recently added this third one. And today marks post 3 for me.

I really like the idea of tying all this writing and thinking together into a short routine in the morning. Writing down what happened the day before and what I’m excited about. Expressing gratitude for what I have and some personal goals for the day and writing something that I find of value and sharing that with others.

Everyone, in my opinion should have a journal, even if all you do is save a picture to it and add a caption that will be valuable, but as hard as it may seem I think once you start doing it you won’t want to miss out on writing things down.

Go ahead and give it shot. It’s been immensely valuable to me and I can’t not do it everyday.

Journal everyday, I dare you.

--

--

Chase Cottle

Co-founder. CTO. Entrepreneur. Love marketing, data science, and tech. Free time: snowboarding, mountain biking, rock climbing and any other adrenaline activity