So Long, Public Transportation!

I’m Going to Miss You

Ava Marcus
2 min readJan 25, 2024
An empty bench on a train
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My last driving lesson is today. I have a test on Sunday. When I pass my driving exam, I will get that coveted driving license.

My whole life I was a passenger looking out the window. I loved taking in the views and wondering what life was like in the towns we passed.

I’ve seen things and been to places that live in the schoolbooks of most people I know.

As excited as I am to drive, I’m actually going to miss public transportation.

Do you know how much I get done on my commute to the city? I can sleep, read, talk to friends, and my imagination runs wild sometimes. In fact, I’m writing this article right now on a train.

A city bus driving through a neighborhood
Photo by Lucas Beck on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong. I definitely won’t miss leaving two-plus hours before I need to be somewhere or having to wait a long time outside if I happen to be too early. Don’t forget that sometimes the bus just doesn’t come.

No longer will I be waiting in the bitter cold or sweltering heat for the bus or train to show up. I will always have a seat during long rides.

I’m gaining time and losing time all at once. Gaining time by leaving whenever I want, but losing time to look out the window and dream. I won’t be able to really look at the sheep and goats on the side of the road. I won’t notice the hills turn into majestic views in the spring.

I’ll be driving, focusing on the road and vehicles around me, and trying to find parking.

Becoming a driver won’t let me forget my non-driving friends. If I have an open seat, you can totally join me.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll do a cross-country trip on the train just to be able to look out the window and dream.

Did you ever realize that achieving one of your goals came with downsides?

--

--