LuSH(UT THE HELL UP)

Chaztity Mendigorin
1 min readApr 27, 2015

--

I’ve never felt so bombarded with nonsense, than the first time I visited the store Lush. Don’t get me wrong, I love those bath bomb fizzy thingys and soap bars in the shape of cute little shapes and critters, but GEEZ! can you tone down the overly enthusiastic, clearly false attitude and let me grab my organic fruit and lavender scented shampoo and leave!?

You’ve probably all experienced these type of employees with a smile plastered on their face. This is called Emotional Labor. This is when workers are expected to display certain feelings in order to satisfy organizational role expectations. Many times, this can come off as fake and forced upon. Employees are usually taught to control emotions to avoid situations like what I went through.

Long story short, I ended up walking out spending $50 more than I originally planned, just to shut the lady up.

--

--

Chaztity Mendigorin

Communications major attending University of Hawaii at Manoa