Start, Stop and Continue

CheersfromQ
2 min readJan 3, 2018

--

Team. Community. Family. The most successful companies incorporate all three aspects.

I believe that everyone needs a sense of belonging. Humans have evolved to where we are today because of the protection and joy that a community brings. At our core, we crave companionship. The most successful people I know have reached out to others for support. In all parts of my life, I strive to be a part of something that has impactful value. I know I work harder when someone is depending on me. I am sure we all have felt how rewarding it is to share our successes, and we have seen how having a community transforms challenging times. So, how can an organization encourage building communities?

When I am tasked with building a great team, I introduce an exercise called “Start, Stop and Continue.” One of my mentors, Josh Aranoff, taught me this exercise in the very early days of my Salesforce career and I still use it to this day. At the end of each team meeting, I offer a simple question: “What is it that you would like to start doing, stop doing and continue doing?”

Voicing an aspiration out loud transforms the goal into an intention. Sharing with a group allows the community to hold itself accountable and for members to learn from each other. Letting peers hear from each other increases awareness of what each person would like to do to feel fulfilled. Answers will vary for each person, as will the group’s willingness to be vulnerable. Over time, I see an increase in the team’s ability to work together, to support each other, and to succeed as a family.

Try this exercise in your next team meeting or even with family or friends. The results may surprise you. While creating goals for ourselves is absolutely essential, sharing with your community will strengthen everyone.

I would love to hear how the exercise goes for you and your team — please share with me in the comments below or a private message.

Which strategies do you use to build community?

Until next time -

Cheers, “Q”

--

--

CheersfromQ

aka “Q” is Versatile,motivated,forward-thinking.Head of Revenue Enablement @ Airbnb, Salesforce + Zenefits + FinancialForce alumni and SCU MBA grad.