Lunch at Johor Bahru: Driving Out of Singapore After 4 Long Years

Shanti C K
9 min readSep 29, 2023

For my partner, it’s been forever since he’s travelled and he doesn’t miss it much, as he travelled heavily for work in his forties. It made him hate travel.

But not leaving our tiny island for 4 years is pretty long. It was all due to the COVID pandemic and his travel fatigue.

I wonder why he doesn’t feel claustrophobic. I would after that long. This country is just too small and too urban. Although we do have trees.

I went for a short trip to Cambodia by plane, with my mum and sis, but I too haven’t crossed the causeway for 4 years. So when my partner announced excitedly that he bought the new toll card so that we could make the trip, part of me was hesitant, but another part was very eager.

Hesitant because since the borders opened up fully, there have been reports of 3-hour jams and worse at the Singapore-Malaysia causeway.

To avoid this my sister took a train there. To me and my partner, a train sounds cumbersome especially if you want to buy stuff. You’d still need to queue up at the immigration there. Also, I’m lazy.

So I thought the drive across the causeway after 4 long years wouldn’t materialise.

--

--

Shanti C K

Gen X cancer survivor. Childless by circumstance. Thankful for the little angels in my life. Navigating grief & loneliness. Keeping hope in my heart 🩵