Things Considered Taboo or Rude in Singapore

At least during my Gen X childhood in the 70’s and 80’s

Shanti C K
3 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I randomly went back to something I published on my WordPress blog way back on 10 February 2011. 13 years ago.

Here’s what I wrote before, slightly modified.

I wanted to share a list of cultural norms or things considered taboo. I have been repeatedly corrected growing up so that’s how I’ve learnt.

I thought visitors to Singapore or new residents might find the list useful or at least fascinating.

I would love to hear about the cultural norms in your country that I am probably not aware of.

  1. Wearing black to a wedding. (it’s considered bad luck, and for Indian weddings no white saris for women either as that’s for widows)
  2. Pointing at someone with your finger. (Rude)
  3. Touching an adult on the head as it’s a part of the body considered sacred. (Disrespectful)
  4. Kicking or touching a book with your foot (in Indian Culture books are considered sacred and knowledge should be respected)
  5. Visiting someone without bringing a gift especially if you don’t regularly visit (rude in Indian Culture)
  6. Not offering a guest to your house a drink…

--

--

Shanti C K

Gen X cancer survivor. Childless by circumstance. Thankful for the little angels in my life. Navigating grief & loneliness. Keeping hope in my heart 🩵